Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross announce The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo Soundtrack

Nine Inch Nails’ Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross have announced the release of their soundtrack to David Fincher’s adaptation of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo on Mute (excluding N. America & Mexico), this marks the second time Reznor and Ross have teamed up with Fincher (having previously collaborated on their Academy Award winning score for Fincher’s box office hit The Social Network).

Reznor states: “For the last fourteen months Atticus and I have been hard at work on David Fincher’s The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. We laughed, we cried, we lost our minds and in the process made some of the most beautiful and disturbing music of our careers. The result is a sprawling 3-hour opus that I am happy to announce is available for pre-order right now. The full release will be available this week – December 9th.

You have two options right now:

Visit iTunes where you can immediately download Karen O’s and our version of Led Zeppelin’s “Immigrant Song” when you pre-order the soundtrack. You will also be able to exclusively watch the legendary 8-minute trailer you may have heard about (no purchase necessary obviously). We scored this trailer separately from the film, BTW.


Visit our store. We’re offering a variety of purchasing options including multiple format high-quality digital files, CDs and a really nice limited edition deluxe package containing vinyl and a flash drive.

In addition, RIGHT NOW you can download a six-track, 35 minute sampler with no purchase necessary.”

Opening in UK cinemas on 26 December, one of 2011’s most hotly anticipated films, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo is adapted from Stieg Larsson’s bestselling book, and stars Rooney Mara as the tattooed protagonist alongside lead actor Daniel Craig.

The album will be available as two physical formats; a 3x CD digipak and a Deluxe Limited Edition metal signed and numbered box version which will include 6 vinyl discs, exclusive artwork and a special razor blade-shaped USB drive (inspired by Lisbeth’s razor blade necklace) containing the full album in high-fidelity 96k audio. The album will also be available as a digital download, including a high quality audio FLAC or Apple Lossless version.

Reznor describes his and Atticus Ross’s eagerly awaited soundtrack for The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo as being “all based on performance, nothing programmed, with a really interesting, organic, layered feel — something we’ve never done before.”

Watch the film’s teaser trailer, which includes excerpts from ‘Immigrant Song’:

Album Track listing
1         Immigrant Song – KAREN O with Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross
2         She Reminds Me Of You
3         People Lie All The Time
4         Pinned And Mounted
5         Perihelion
6         What If We Could?
7         With The Flies
8         Hidden In Snow
9         A Thousand Details
10      One Particular Moment
11       I Can’t Take It Anymore
12       How Brittle The Bones
13       Please Take Your Hand Away
14       Cut Into Pieces
15       The Splinter
16       An Itch
17       Hypomania
18       Under The Midnight Sun
19       Aphelion
20       You’re Here
21       The Same As The Others
22       A Pause For Reflection
23       While Waiting
24       The Seconds Drag
25       Later Into The Night
26       Parallel Timeline With Alternate Outcome
27        Another Way Of Caring
28        A Viable Construct
29        Revealed In The Thaw
30        Millennia
31        We Could Wait Forever
32        Oraculum
33        Great Bird Of Prey
34        The Heretics
35        A Pair Of Doves
36        Infiltrator
37        The Sound Of Forgetting
38        Of Secrets
39        Is Your Love Strong Enough? – How To Destroy Angels

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.