VIDEO: Fránçois & The Atlas Mountains – ‘E Volo Love’

fam spare groupvert by Lola perstowskyedited

We are pleased to announce the release of E Volo Love, the new album from Domino’s first French signings, Fránçois & The Atlas Mountains, on 23rd January 2012.

E Volo Love (which is a palindrome), is comprised of eleven elegant, fragile, velvet-plush songs on an album that is heart-meltingly delicate, enchanting and otherworldly. Delicately poised between sunnily feel-good and wistfully melancholy,

E Volo Love has a poignant, end-of-summer feel to it. The grand theme on this dual-language album – sung in both French and English – is simply love.

E Volo Love was written whilst Fránçois Marry surfed, cycled and wandered through the countryside, and was recorded in a church in Saintes, his hometown near La Rochelle in south west France.

The album’s hot buttered sound comes from its wide range of influences, from French chanson, traditional indie pop and Aphex Twin to African and Middle Eastern sounds, which can be heard in particular on Les Plus Beaux and Do You Want To Dance, which bookend the album. The album was mixed by Tinariwen’s studio bod, Jean-Paul Romann.

Texture and mood dominate thanks to slowly ebbing arrangements, elastic rhythms, seamless twists and turns such as Piscine’s chanson-into-house music tack, heavy doses of elegant French drama, and a soft gaze of electronics. Released as the first single on 7th November, Piscine yearns nostalgically for the past, and for lost afternoons at a small-town swimming-pool from Fránçois’ youth. Click HERE for an underwater video to accompany the track.

Already known to discerning music fans through previous releases on Fence Records, Fránçois & The Atlas Mountains are already rising stars in their native France where they have featured on the cover of French music magazine Magic and have performed Piscine on national TV show, Ce Soir Ou Jamais, which you can watch HERE. Click HERE for an acoustic session for Magic.


E Volo Love will be available on CD (WIGCD280), LP (WIGLP280), via digital download (WIG280D) and as an exclusive digital/ screen print bundle. The tracklisting is as follows:

  1. Les Plus Beaux                         7. Cherchant Des Ponts
  2. Muddy Heart                            8. Slow Love
  3. Edge Of Town                          9. Bail Eternel
  4. City Kiss                                   10. Piscine
  5. Azrou Tune                               11. Do You Want To Dance
  6. Buried Treasures

To pre-order the album click HERE.
22nd January 2012: Glasgow: Celtic Connections
25th January 2012: London: The Slaughtered Lamb
26th January 2012: Brighton: The Green Door Store
27th January 2012: Bristol: Motorcycle Showroom
28th January 2012: Gateshead: The Sage (Hall Two)

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.