Preaching from the Pews: Evans The Death


London’s Evans the Death are a whip smart female-fronted outfit who are all set to release their self-titled debut album in April 2012 via Fortuna POP! in the UK / Europe and Slumberland Records in the US.

Coupling main songwriter Dan Moss’ gift for melody with Katherine Whitaker’s unique vocal mannerisms that are redolant of early Chrissie Hynde and the twitching introspective spite of Ari Up of The Slits. The songs both document and channel the exuberance of youth via the prism of five pop music obsessives and were recorded late Summer 2011 with producer ex-Test Icicles and current Warm Brains man Rory Atwell (Veronica Falls, Male Bonding, The Vaccines).

Dan describes what the band were aiming for:

“We wanted to make the best sounding record that we possibly could as we’re bored of bands just settling for a half-arsed sound. There were no real fixed reference points when we made it; we just borrowed stuff from any of the pop music that we’ve grown up with. I think it’s also a very economical album. There’s no dilly-dallying around when there should instead be a hook there. We’re very proud of it and glad we paid little or no attention to what is currently fashionable in music.”

Named after the undertaker in Dylan Thomas’s Under Milk Wood, Evans the Death comprise of Dan Moss (guitar, vocals), Katherine Whitaker (vocals, keys), Olly Moss (guitar), Rob Mitson (drums), and newest member Lan McCardle (bass) – original guitarist Matt Gill having left the band following the completion of the album. Following the release of their instantly acclaimed debut single ‘Threads’ that ripples with their new wavey guitar rhythms and Whitaker’s booming notes in the chorus and the equally brilliant second single ‘I’m so Unclean’ that’s brutal introspective lyrical barbs are utterly compelling and fiercly urgently, Evans The Death could captivate in 2012!

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.