2013 cover

NEWS: Meilyr Jones announces debut album

2013_coverFollowing a string of memorable summer festival appearances and a recent support tour with Richard Hawley, Meilyr Jones has announced his debut solo album, 2013, which will be released on Moshi Moshi on 26th February 2016.

The album is a snapshot of a year in his life, a year that marked the end of a relationship and the end of his old band Race Horses; but also a new beginning, an inspiration born out of a short but transformative trip to Rome. “I conceived of the record as a compilation of myself, over the period of a year,” says Meilyr Jones. “As an anthology, a collection of my songs and of what happened to me in that year.”

The songs that emerged from that time proved quite different to anything he had written before; songs in which joy and rapture are tempered by wit and keen-eyed humour, by jubilant pop melody and rock’n’roll muscularity.

Conceived as orchestral pieces, five of the songs were recorded with the help of a 30-strong orchestra “out of friends, and friends of friends of friends.” Later recording embellishments included a community choir in Glasgow, field recordings of birds and three trombonists playing in a cemetery.

“I wanted to make something that felt right to me and expressed my interests, which are classical music and rock‘n’roll music, and films, and nature and karaoke, and tacky stuff,” explains Jones. “And I wanted to capture that feeling in Rome of high culture and low-brow stuff all mixed together.”

2013 tracklisting:
1. How To Recognise A Work Of Art
2. Don Juan
3. Passionate Friend
4. Refugees
5. Rome
6. Rain In Rome
7. Strange Emotional
8. Return To Life
9. Love
10. Olivia
11. Featured Artist
12. Be Soft

Pre-order 2013 HERE.

Watch the video for the 2013 lead single ‘How to recognise a work of art’ HERE.

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.