Bjork scaled

NEWS: Björk Triumphs at AIM Awards as Final Nominees are Revealed 

As anticipation grows for the UK’s biggest night in independent music, the Association of Independent Music (AIM) has crowned Björk with the coveted Best Live Performer award and revealed the Awards’ final nominees.

 Björk fought off fierce competition from Beabadoobee and MUNA, surpassing Japan’s kawaii-metal girl band BABYMETAL at the eleventh hour to clinch the publicly-voted award. Björk’s Cornucopia tour debuted at NYC’s The Shed to stellar reviews. Conceptually devised from her latest album Utopia, the shows are a spectacle of sound and image. The tour continues into 2023 and is set to include music from the Grammy-nominated album Fossa. This year’s AIM Awards ceremony will take place on 26th September at London’s iconic Roundhouse.

Unveiling the final nominees, Wet Leg and Surya Sen Surya Sen are set to compete against the flag-bearer of new British rap AntsLive AntsLive, John Summit and Vibe Chemistry for the PPL Award for Most Played New Independent artist. 

Dr Charisse Beaumont, CEO of Black Lives in Music (BLiM), has been named Diversity Champion in recognition of her groundbreaking work at the forefront of creating an inclusive music industry, such as the rollout of BLiM’s voluntary Music Industry Anti-Racism Code. Beaumont has recently been awarded an honorary doctorate by the University of West London (alongside BLiM co-founder Roger Wilson), for her continued efforts to achieve equality for Black musicians and professionals.

Adding to the anticipation, the competition runs hot in the ‘Best Independent Label’ category. Nods were given to UK house music powerhouse Defected Records, Forever Living Originals – the home of SAULT and Cleo Sol, world-leading D&B label Hospital Records, One Little Independent – whose artists include Björk and Laura Misch – and Transgressive, who count Loyle Carner, Arlo Parks and Flume on their roster

‘Best Boutique Label’ nominees are Chess Club Records – home to Alfie Templeman and Pixey, famed electronic label Glasgow Underground, Houndstooth – home to Special Request, boundary-pushing Rough Bones, and Lime Garden’s So Young Records.

‘Music Entrepreneur of the Year’ shines a light on an individual within the independent community who has shown considerable innovation and success. This years’ shortlist includes founder of music marketing app Un:hurd Alex Brees, Young founder & label head Caius Pawson, Director at Good Energy PR Jess Kangalee, founder and CEO of creative solutions company Forward Slash Ketura Cummings and founder of HQ Familia record label and studio Yasin El-Ashrafi.

Silvia Montello, CEO at AIM said: “The AIM Independent Music Awards are a night to celebrate the best of the UK’s independent music community, and to showcase its triumphs and innovations. We are proud to be able to honour the diversity and talent across the UK ‘s independent labels, artists, entrepreneurs and champions and it’s fantastic to see continued public recognition of Björk’s trailblazing live shows!”

Returning to the Roundhouse on 26 September as the most anticipated night in the independent music calendar, the AIM Independent Music Awards recognises the achievements of independent labels, artists and entrepreneurs that make up the UK’s diverse and thriving independent music sector. The 2023 Awards will focus on celebrating the independent music community, incorporating exclusive and intimate live performances set to take place during the ceremony.

Newly announced winners and nominees

Diversity Champion

Charisse Beaumont – Black Lives in Music

Best Live Performance

Björk  (One Little Independent)

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist

AntsLive (Payday Records, Trademark Records)

John Summit (Off The Grid Records)

Surya Sen (Skint Records)

Vibe Chemistry (DnB Allstars Records)

Wet Leg (Domino Records)

Music Entrepreneur of the Year

Alex Brees – Un:hurd

Caius Pawson – Young / Space

Jess Kangalee – Good Energy PR

Keturah Cummings – Forward Slash

Yasin El Ashrafi – HQ Familia

Best Boutique Label

Chess Club

Glasgow Underground


Rough Bones

So Young Records

Best Independent Label

Defected Records

Forever Living Originals

Hospital Records

One Little Independent


Best Creative Campaign

Because Music (Shygirl – ‘Nymph’)

Dirty Hit (Rina Sawayama – ‘Hold The Girl’)

Human Re Sources (RAYE – ‘My 21st Century Blues’)

Ninja Tune (Young Fathers – ‘Heavy Heavy’)

Partisan Records (Ezra Collective – ‘Where I’m Meant To Be’)

XL Recordings (Yaeji – ‘With A Hammer’)

Previously announced nominees

UK Independent Breakthrough

Ezra Collective (Partisan Records)

I.Jordan (Ninja Tune)

Overmono (XL Recordings)

Shygirl (Because Music)

Suki Waterhouse (Sub Pop)

Best Independent Track (Meta)

Connie Constance – ‘Hurt You’ (Play It Again Sam)

ENNY – Charge It (FAMM)

Four Tet – ‘Three Drums’ (Text Records)

Makaya McCraven – ‘Dream Another’ (XL Recordings)

Overmono – ‘Good Lies’ (XL Recordings)

RAYE, 070 Shake – ‘Escapism’ (Human Re Sources) 

Shygirl – ‘Shlut’ (Because Music) 

Sudan Archives – ‘Selfish Soul’ (Stones Throw Records)

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – ‘Spitting Off The Edge of The World’ feat. Perfume Genius (Secretly Canadian)

Yves Tumor – ‘Echolalia’ (Warp Records)

Best Independent EP/ Mixtape 

Bellah – ‘Adultsville’ (Base ‘N’ Rebulz X Marathon Music Group)

ENNY – ‘We Go Again’ (FAMM)

Jessica Winter – ‘Limerance’ (Lucky Number)

Saint Joshua – ‘EP2’(Ditto Music)

yunè pinku – ‘BABYLON IX’ (PLATOON)

Best Independent Album 

Avelino – God Save The Streets (More Music Records/ OddChild Music)

Kelela – Raven (Warp Records)

Little Simz – No Thank You (Forever Living Originals)

Nova Twins – Supernova (Marshall Records)

Obongjayar – Some Nights I Dream of Doors (September Recordings)

Oliver Sim – Hideous Bastard (Young)

RAYE – My 21st Century Blues (Human Re Sources)

Rina Sawayama – Hold The Girl (Dirty Hit)

Shygirl – Nymph (Because Music)

Wu-Lu – LOGGERHEAD (Warp Records) 

Best Independent Remix 

Sega Bodega Remix (One Little Independent) – Björk – ‘Ovuke (feat. Shygirl)’

Soulwax Remix (Deewee / Because Music) – Charlotte Adigéry & Bolis Pupul – ‘Cliche’

Nu:Tone Remix (Hospital Records) – GLXY – ‘Butterfly Effect (feat. Hugh Hardie & Visionobi)’

Jamie XX remix (Young) – Oliver Sim – ‘GMT’

Boys Noize (Secretly Canadian) – Yeah Yeah Yeahs – ‘Wolf’

One To Watch (BBC Music Introducing)

Jessica Winter (Lucky Number)

Juice Menace (Supernature)


Laughta (MDLBEAST)

Master Peace (PMR)

Best Independent Video (Vevo)

Ezra Collective – ‘No Confusion ft. Kojey Radical’ (Partisan Records)

Kelela – ‘Enough For Love’ (Warp Records)

Obongjayar – ‘I Wish It Was Me (Live)’ (September Recordings)

RAYE, 070 Shake – ‘Escapism.’ (Human Re Sources)

Wesley Joseph – ‘MONSOON’ (EEVILTWINN)


God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.