Collage 2022 04 26 22 24 21

NEWS: Kelly Lee Owens shares haunting new single ‘One’

Kelly Lee Owens has unveiled her haunting a new single, ‘One‘ taken from her forthcoming album, LP.8, out this Friday, April 29th (digital) and June 10th (physical) on Smalltown Supersound. Watch the stark accompanying visualiser below.

LP.8 was created with no preconceptions or expectations: an unbridled exploration into Owens’ creative subconscious. Showing an impressively expansive vocal range ‘One‘ bridges the evocative spaces between her acclaimed second album, Inner Song, and LP.8, with its stunning blend of vocals and spoken word set against a backdrop of the spacious subtle textures of Owens’ avant-garde-pop production.

After releasing Inner Song in the early days of the pandemic, Owens was eager to make use of her untapped creative energy, and made the spontaneous decision to go to Oslo for a change of scenery and some undisturbed studio time. There she began collaborating with the renowned avant-noise musician Lasse Marhaug (Merzbow, Sunn O))), Jenny Hval). Together, Owens and Marhaug envisioned making music somewhere in between Throbbing Gristle and Enya, artists who have had a lasting impact on Owens’ creativity. They paired tough, industrial sounds with Celtic mysticism, and, in doing so, created music that ebbs and flows between tension and release. Soon after, Owens called her label to tell them she had created something of an outlier, her “eighth album.”

Kelly Lee Owens Tour Dates

Fri. June 3 – Melbourne, AU @ Rising Festival Hub
Sat. June 4 – Sydney, AU @ Motorik [DJ Set]
Wed. June 15 – Milan, IT @ Magnolia Fest
Sun. June 19 – Dublin, IE @ Body & Soul Festival
Sat. June 25 – Bristol, UK @ Bristol Sounds
Sat. July 2 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
Fri. July 8 – Bilbao, ES @ Bilbao BBK Live Fest
Sun. July 10 – Modena, IT @ Artivive Festival
Fri. July 22 – Macclesfield, UK @ Bluedot
Sat. July 23 – Hertfordshire, UK @ Standon Calling Festival
Sat. July 30 – London, UK @ South Facing
Sun. July 31 – Sicily, IT @ Ortigia Sound System Festival [DJ Set]
Sat. Aug. 20 – Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop
Sun. Aug. 21 – Biddinghuizen, NE @ Lowlands Festival

(Photo Credit: Josie Hall)

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.