NEWS: The Association of Independent Music - AIM Awards reveal nominees

NEWS: The Association of Independent Music – AIM Awards reveal nominees

The AIM Award nominees have been revealed. The Association of Independent Music will host the ceremony on Wednesday 28th September at Camden’s Roundhouse, followed by a live show, open to the public.

Returning as one of the highlights of the independent music calendar, the AIM Awards will showcase the talent and resilience of the community, as well as celebrating the rising stars of the future.

All eyes are set on the nominees. Ground-breaking rapper, Dave, and rapidly rising rock duo Nova Twins have received three nods each, while double nominees include indie sensations, Wet Leg and FKA Twigs, soul outfit Children of Zeus, post-punks, Black Country, New Road, experimental artist, Yves Tumor, rising Scot, TAAHLIAH, rappers Knucks and Jeshi and indie-pop singer Nilüfer Yanya.

The International Breakthrough Act will highlight talent from across the globe seeing Australian rockers Amyl & the Sniffers, rapper Blxst, London eight-piece KOKOROKO, Tuareg songwriter Mdou Moctar and Gen-Z favourite Mitski battle it out for the trophy, while brand new category Best Independent EP/Mixtape will see Wesley Joseph, Joy Orbison and Surya Sen go head to head.

After rising through the musical ranks, the likes of Barry Can’t Swim, Jeshi, Léa Sen, Nia Archives and TAAHLIAH are spotlighted in the One To Watch category, while Children of Zeus, Warmduscher, Knucks, Nova Twins, and Wet Leg will vie for UK Independent Breakthrough Act, riding on the wave of a hugely successful year,

The Best Independent Album sees the likes of Boj, Cleo Sol, Emma-Jean Thackray, Mustafa and SAULT being nominated for their latest LPs, while the Best Independent Track is a diverse who’s who of the musical landscape including superb songs by Anz, Overmono, Knucks and Wu-Lu, while Best Independent Remix nominees ATO, Erika de Casier , Ibeyi, MF DOOM and Shygirl breathe sparkling new life into original tracks.

The much-coveted ‘Best Live Performer’ decision will once again be put in the hands of fans, who can vote for their favourite act here best-live-performer

The ceremony will take place on Wednesday 28th September at Camden’s Roundhouse, followed by live show open to public, with performers and ticket details to be revealed soon. See below for the hotly tipped list of nominees.

AIM Awards 2022 nominees 

UK Independent Breakthrough in association with YouTube Music

Children of Zeus (Rough Trade)

Warmduscher (Bella Union)

Knucks (No Days Off)

Nova Twins (Marshall Records)

Wet Leg (Domino Recording Company)

International Breakthrough in association with Deezer

Amyl & the Sniffers (Rough Trade)

Blxst (Red Bull Records)

Kokoroko (Brownswood Recordings)

Mdou Moctar (Matador Records)

Mitski (Dead Oceans)

Best Independent Track in association with Meta

Anz – ‘You Could Be’ (ft. George Riley) (Ninja Tune)

Dave – ‘Starlight’ (Neighbourhood Recordings)

FKA twigs – ‘tears in the club’ ft. the weeknd (Beggars)

Jeshi – ‘Protein’ feat. Obongjayar (Because Music)

Knucks, SL – ‘Nice & Good’ 

Nova Twins – ‘Antagonist’ 

Overmono – ‘So U Kno’ (XL Recordings)

Wet Leg – ‘Chaise Longue’

Wu-Lu – ‘Broken Homes’ (Warp Records)

Yves Tumor – ‘Jackie’ (Warp Records)

Best Independent EP/Mixtape

FKA Twigs – ‘CAPRISONGS’ (Beggars)

Joy Orbison – ‘still slipping vol.1’ (XL Recordings)

Surya Sen – ‘At What Cost?’ (Skint Records)

TAAHLIAH – ‘Angelica’ (untitled (recs))


Best Independent Album in association with Spotify

Boj – ‘Gbagada Express’ (Moves Recordings)

Children Of Zeus – ‘Balance’

Cleo Sol  – ‘Mother’ (Forever Living Originals)

Dave – ‘We’re All Alone In This Together’

Dave Okumu – ‘Knopperz’ (Neighbourhood Recordings)

Emma-Jean Thackray – ‘Yellow’ (Movementt)

Mustafa – ‘When Smoke Rises’ (Young)

Nilüfer Yanya – ‘Painless’ (ATO Records)

SAULT – ‘NINE’ (Forever Living Originals)

Walt Disco – ‘Unlearning’ (Lucky Number)

Best [Difficult] Second Album in association with BBC 6 Music

Black Country, New Road  – ‘Ants From Up There’ (Ninja Tune)

Jana Rush – ‘Painful Enlightenment’ (Planet Mu Records)

Nilüfer Yanya – ‘Painless’ 

Ross From Friends – ‘Tread’ (Brainfeeder)

Tirzah – ‘Colourgrade’ (Domino Recording Company)

Best Independent Remix

ATO – ‘no caroline remix’ (FLOHIO) (MCMXCV)

Erike de Casier – ‘Polite (Mura Masa Remix)’ (4AD)

Ibeyi – ‘Lavender & Red Roses ft. Jorja Smith (Champion Remix)’ (XL Recordings)

MF DOOM – ‘Gazzillion Ear (Thom Yorke Man on Fire Remix)’ (Lex Records)

Shygirl – ‘BDE (Kaydy Cain Remix)’ (Because Music)

One To Watch in association with BBC Introducing

Barry Can’t Swim (Technicolour / Ninja Tune) 

Jeshi (Because Music)

Léa Sen (Partisan Records)

Nia Archives (HIJINXX)


God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.