NEWS: Lowertown release new single 'Bucktooth' from debut LP announced today

NEWS: Lowertown release new single ‘Bucktooth’ from debut LP announced today

Atalanta, Georgia duo, Lowertown have announced their debut LP, I Love To Lie will be released on 21st October on Dirty Hit.

The much anticipated album comes after two critically acclaimed EPs came in quick succession over the past two years. Much like last year’s EP, The Gaping Mouth, recording was overseen by Catherine Marks in her London studio late last year, which culminated in their first UK gig at Pitchfork Festival in a church in Dalston.

The first cut from the record is ace single ‘Bucktooth’ which you can listen to below.

As per their previous releases this has the perfect mix of Avsha’s lo-fi wonky guitar and Olivia’s snarled and sweet vocals that swoop and crack in all the right places. What makes Lowertown stand out from the crowd is the feeling of chaos and collapse is balanced on a pin but the melody and personality keeps everything just about on the road with so much charm and originality. The lyrics come over like an anti gun toting, right wing protest with Bucktooth Willy the protagonist “firing stray bullets into trees” with the chorus of “I can’t handle anymore guns“. The very lo-fi production allows Olivia to whisper “I said that really funny” after the first chorus, although the sound is immaculate with every instrument appearing to be playing in room with you.

You can pre-save the LP here.


01 My Friends
02 Antibiotics
03 Bucktooth
04 I’m Not
05 It’s It’s It’s
06 No Way
07 Scum
08 At the End
09 Goon
10 Waltz in Ab Minor
11 It’s Easy for Me

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.