unnamed 42

NEWS: Jessica Pratt announces fourth album ‘Here in the Pitch’, shares new video for widescreen single ‘Life Is’ & Tour Dates

Jessica Pratt has today announced her fourth album, Here in the Pitch, will be released on the 3rd of May via City Slang (Mexican Summer in the US). Alongside the announcement she has shared the video for lead single ‘Life Is’, co-directed by Colby Droscher and Pratt, it was shot around New York City in late 2023 and looks to films of Kenneth Anger and Stan Brakhage for inspiration. Watch it below.

Also, Pratt has announced a tour this spring and summer throughout Europe and the USA which includes a show at London’s Union Chapel on the 6th of June. Over the last 12 years, the Los Angeles artist has become one of the most singular songwriters of her generation, largely through the mystical, elusive blend of just her delicate acoustic guitar and distinctive vocals. For Here in the Pitch she envisioned a more expansive set of influences—“big panoramic sounds that make you think of the ocean and California“— and throughout these nine songs, timpani, glockenspiel, baritone saxophone, and flute are layered alongside robust vocal arrangements that create a triumphant mood, even when the lyrics hint at devastation.

This broader production palette is apparent on the widescreen album opener and first single, ‘Life Is’. A percussion roll nods to the grand, orchestral style of ’60s pop hits like the Walker Brothers‘The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore’. “In a way, it’s kind of a false flag”, Pratt admits of this introduction to the album, considering the rest of the record is just as emotionally intimate and stark as fans have come to expect. “But I also feel like it’s a statement of intention”. Meanwhile, the lyrics are an impressionistic paean to the vagaries of ambition. “Life came and went and you didn’t land where you thought you would”, Pratt says of the song. “It’s the third act and you’re trying to climb back on the horse before it gets dark“.

“Five years after her 2019 breakthrough album Quiet Signs, Pratt has re-emerged with new ambition and new parameters for what her music can be. Working once again at Gary’s Electric Studio in Brooklyn with her trusted collaborators — multi-instrumentalist/engineer Al Carlson and keyboardist Matt McDermott — Pratt enlisted the rhythm duo of bassist Spencer Zahn and percussionist Mauro Refosco (David Byrne, Atoms for Peace) to help realise her vision, alongside contributions from Ryley Walker, Peter Mudge (Mac Miller, Kendrick Lamar), and Alex Goldberg.”

If Pratt’s early albums—2012’s word-of-mouth favourite Jessica Pratt and 2015’s On Your Own Love Again—seemed beamed in from a dimly lit bedroom somewhere in the distant past, these songs stand on more solid ground. The tone can range from comforting and even chipper (“When you’ve fallen out, get both feet on the ground”, she reassures during the chiming chorus of ‘Life Is’) to a malevolent quality that feels entirely new in her songbook.

“I became obsessed with figures emblematic of the dark side of the Californian dream while making this record”, Pratt explains, noting the influence of Los Angeles’ strange, seedy history and the bleak end of the hippy era. You can hear this playfully villainous perspective emerging in her imagistic lyrics, although the clearest shift is in her vocal performance. While Pratt admits to always seeking inspiration from voices that sound like they’ve been “drug through life”, she worked on these songs to develop a fuller, more physical style that draws from the dignified baritone of Scott Walker and the weathered theatrics of latter-day Judy Garland.

“I never wanted it to take this long. I’m just a real perfectionist”, she explains of the album’s long gestation, which spanned from summer 2020 to the spring of 2023. “I was just trying to get the right feeling, and it takes a long time to do that”.

Photo Credit: Samuel Hess

Here in the Pitch tracklist:

1. Life Is
2. Better Hate
3. World on a String
4. Get Your Head Out
5. By Hook or by Crook
6. Nowhere It Was
7. Empires Never Know
8. Glances
9. The Last Year

Tour dates:

31 May – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
2 June – Paris, FR @ L’Alhambra ^
3 June – Brussels, BE @ AB Theater ^
4 June – Amsterdam, NL @ Zonnehuis ^

6 June – London @ Union Chapel ^ TICKETS

20 June – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
21 June – Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy & Harriet’s
22 June – San Francisco, CA @ Bimbo’s 365 Club
26 June – Seattle, WA @ Neumos
27 June – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
24 July – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
26 July – Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live
27 July – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair

^ = support from Joanna Sternberg

Tickets are available here:

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.