LISTEN: The Antlers: Parentheses

The Antlers have released a brand new track “Parentheses” taken from forthcoming album “Burst Apart”, released in June on Transgressive Records. Listen to it below.

2009 saw the release of The Antlers’ astonishing album “Hospice”, an elaborate song cycle dealing with life, death and all the in-between, a record which earned the trio of Peter Silberman, Michael Lerner and Darby Cicci rapturous praise, striking a deep and resonant chord in both critics and audiences alike.

Now comes their follow-up, the rather aptly named “Burst Apart”, released in June on their new label home Transgressive Records – an epic, breathtaking collection of songs which are lush, nuanced, and uncommonly moving, seamlessly integrating accessible and breathtaking melodies with dynamic, imaginative orchestrations. Indeed, with its swelling pulsebeats, intricately crafted arrangements, and dreamy pop hooks, the remarkably sensual “Burst Apart” sees The Antlers’ ambition and artistry ascending to an extraordinary new plane.

To get an idea of the scope and sweep of the new album, the lush yet skittering unease of “Parentheses”, constructed upon clattering beats and vertiginous dub tension, highlighted by Silberman’s keening falsetto. It is a dramatic progression for the band, and a more than fitting introduction to the next phase of The Antlers.

The Antlers – Parentheses by Frenchkiss antlers


“Burst Apart”

Released on Transgressive Records

June 13


1. I Don’t Want Love
2. French Exit
3. Parentheses
4. No Widows
5. Rolled Together
6. Every Night My Teeth Are Falling Out
7. Tiptoe
8. Hounds
9. Corsicana
10. Putting the Dog to Sleep


May 12 – Heaven, London

May 13 – Club Academy, Manchester

May 14 – Concorde 2, Brighton @ The Great Escape

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.