VIDEO: Sea Of Bees – Broke

Jules 1

After her hugely acclaimed debut album Songs For The Ravens, Sea of Bees – a.k.a. Sacramento-born and -based Julie Ann Baenziger – returns with a new album, ‘Orangefarben’ to be released on 9th April on Heavenly Recordings. Watch the video for her captivating new song ‘Broke’ below.

Broke from New Canada on Vimeo.

Orangefarben – German for ‘the colour of orange’ – comprises ten original songs and an equally heart-tugging cover of John Denver’s “Leaving On A Jet Plane” that plays a special part in the story behind the album. It’s a classic break-up record, recalling Jules’ former relationship with the woman she used to call… yes, Orangefarben, which unfortunately did not survive the year. The album is anything but maudlin however, as fired up by the discovery and wonder of love as the sadness of its passing.

Raised in Roseville, a conservative suburb of Sacramento, California, in a religious household where only Christian rock was deemed fit for purpose, Baenziger eventually broke free and started writing songs and playing house shows. She was soon discovered by John Baccigaluppi, owner of Hangar Studios, who provided the means to record her debut EP Bee Eee Pee, which led to Heavenly signing her and releasing Songs For The Ravens in February 2011 and now Orangefarben, both of which Baccigaluppi produced at Hangar. Over-brimming with hooks, as gutsy as they are intimate and delicate, Orangefarben is a major leap forward for Sea Of Bees, who will be heading out on tour as a full band through 2012, having already toured with the likes of John Grant, Smoke Fairies, Calexico and Vetiver.


12 – Glasgow, King Tuts –

13 – Belfast, Auntie Annies –

14 – Dublin, Academy 2 –

16 – Manchester, Deaf Institute –

17 – Birmingham, Hare and Hound –

18 – Brighton, The Haunt –

19 – London, Hoxton Bar & Kitchen –

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.