This years AIM Independent Music Awards open for entries now!

This years AIM Independent Music Awards open for entries now!

AIM Independent Music Awards

The AIM Independent Music Awards are pleased to announce that they will be accepting entries for this year’s Awards from Thursday 14th June. Highlighting the wealth of talent across the independent sector, entries will be accepted from both AIM member labels & non AIM members. Application forms can be downloaded from and the deadline for entries will be Friday 27th July.

Tickets and sponsorship packages, (available via the AIM website), are selling fast for the AIM Independent Music Awards’ second ceremony which will be held at their new venue The Brewery in Clerkenwell on October 29th. Celebrating the diversity and creativity of the artists and labels that AIM has supported since its inception in 1999, Radio 1’s Huw Stephens and 6 Music’s Steve Lamacq will again take on hosting duties, dishing out 16 trophies to the illustrious independent sector.

The categories open for entry to the 2012 Awards are:

Best Live Act – For the best live act signed to an independent label, voted for by readers of The Fly

Independent Album of the Year – For the year’s best independently released album

Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album – The independent album that has built on the success and brilliance of a debut release

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival – Recognising the UK’s best independent festival

Independent Breakthrough of the Year – For an artist that made serious waves in 2012

Genre Spotlight Award – Recognising a great release in a niche or specialist genre

Special Catalogue Release of the Year – For a catalogue release that offers something special

Best Small Label – They’re not big (yet) but they are clever!

Hardest Working Band or Artist – For a band or artist that demonstrates an admirable work ethic

Other awards categories are:

PPL Award for Most Played Independent Act – For the independent act most played in public and on radio

Pioneer Award – Recognising a visionary independent label founder

Outstanding Contribution to Music – For an artist who continues to influence and inspire with their work

Independent Label of the Year – For a label that has had a truly brilliant year

Independent Entrepreneur of the Year – For someone approaching the market in a smart and forward thinking way

Indie Champion Award – For an individual who demonstrates unwavering support for the independent community

Voting for the Best Live Act Award, chosen by readers of The Fly and the Indie Champion Award, chosen by AIM member labels and visitors to the AIM website will be open from August 13-30. Voting for the Golden Welly Award, chosen by readers of This is Fake DIY will be open from September 10-23.

AIM Members are invited to put forward nominations for the Indie Champion & Independent Entrepreneur Categories. More details on these categories and how to nominate someone can be found at

Winners from the inaugural ceremony held last year included: Adele for Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album and the PPL Award for Most Played Independent Act, Bjork for Outstanding Contribution to Music Award, SBTRKT for Independent Breakthrough of the Year, Stolen Recordings for Best Small Label and Domino’s Laurence Bell, who received the Pioneer Award. A full list of winners is available at

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.