Various Artists - The Capitol Northern Soul 7-inch Box Set (Universal)

Various Artists – The Capitol Northern Soul 7-inch Box Set (Universal)

capitol northern soul 7sWhether you’re a relatively new convert to the religion of Northern Soul (perhaps via Elaine Constantine’s film) or an original diehard from it’s heyday, this vinyl box set of rare tracks compiled by Northern Soul aficionado and Wigan Casino legend Richard Searling should see you shouting “Take my money!” whilst throwing down the talcum powder in preperation.

Out now on Universal, the collection brings together fourteen tracks, three of which have never had an official 45rpm release. It draws from Capitol Records releases between 1965-1969 along with associated spin off labels Tower and Uptown. It’s not quite start to finish floor fillers but it’s certainly not far off it; the calibre of tracks included here is superb. Given the retail price equates to a couple of pints per record, it’s not too pricey either, especially as some of the tracks included can be hard to come by on vinyl. Take the beautiful ‘Love Slipped Through My Fingers’ by Sam Williams, for example, which can command in excess of £2k for original pressings.

As seems to increasingly be the case with vinyl box sets of late, this one isn’t without it’s flaws. Record 4 in my set had the correct tracks on either side of the vinyl, but the label for Side-B was applied on both sides. This is a minor annoyance and hints at rushed pressings, as is inevitable with the current strains on vinyl plants. That said, it could just as easily be a one off with the box I have.

This is a superb collection of authentic tracks which, for the price, really is excellent value and likely to be a required purchase for any Northern Soul fan.

[Rating: 4]

Record One
A – Jay D Martin – By Yourself
B – Sam Williams – Love Slipped Through My Fingers

Record Two
A – The Magnificent Men – Keep On Climbin’
B – The Outsiders – A Lonely Man

Record Three
A – The Rosebuds – Say You’ll Be Mine
B – The World Column – So Is The Sun

Record Four
A – Alexander Patton – True Love
B – Jerry Cook – I Hurt On the Other Side

Record Five
A – Bobby Paris – I Walked Away
B – Bobby Sheen – Sweet, Sweet Love

Record Six
A – Gloria Jones – Come Go With Me
B – Patrice Holloway – Stolen Hours

Record Seven
A – Billy Preston – Sweeter The Girl’s Got “It”
B – Doris Troy – Face Up To The Truth

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.