Track Of The Day #1060 - MMODE - Waiting In The Desert

NEWS: MMODE announce debut album

Lucy and Thomas Gaffney aka MMODE have anounced details of their self-titled debut album. MMODE will be released on Friday 8th December 2017. They’ve also shared the video for current single Gustav, watch it here.

The broad themes of the record, the band say, are love, loss and escapism. “A lot of the songs did come out of situations of being completely overwhelmed when we were in England,” Lucy says, her brother picking up her train of thought. “When you’re young there is a sense of not knowing who you are,” Thomas adds. “When you’re in your mid-twenties, it’s quite a difficult time and that’s probably mostly what our album’s about. It’s trying to deal with feeling out of control, finding that control and how that made us feel.”

Their debut single Waiting In The Desert was originally recorded with Mark Rankin (Queens Of The Stone Age, Bombay Bicycle Club, Adele).

MMODE is immediately different to anything the Irish sibling duo of Lucy and Thomas have done before, the dynamic approach brought in completely different styles and perspectives, further developing their fertile creative vision. They describe this new sound as “dreamy, psychedelic alt-pop” and it’s influenced by artists like Beck, Zero 7 and Portishead.


1. Waiting In The Desert

2. Gustav

3. Over This Before

4. Far Away From You

5. Lazy Sun

6. Sunrise In Belfast

7. Portobello Road/Caveman

8. Tell Me I’m Wasted

9. Fall Between Them

10. Would It Be Wrong?

11. Sometime Life

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.