NEWS: Boy Azooga announce debut album '1,2 Kung Fu!'

NEWS: Boy Azooga announce debut album ‘1,2 Kung Fu!’

Boy Azooga, the shape-shifting act led by Davey Newington have announced details of the release of their debut album, 1,2 Kung Fu!, on Heavenly Recordings on Friday 8th June 2018.

Announcing themselves to the world with the Onyeabor-inspired ‘Face Behind Her Cigarette’ in early November last year, the band have recently shared the video to the latest track to be lifted from the album, ‘Loner Boogie’ watch it here:

A kaleidoscopic, hallucinatory rush, the video was directed by Cardiff film-maker Toby Cameron ( who also worked on Face Behind Her Cigarette.

Talking about the video, Davey said:

It’s a scary world out there these days, sometimes you don’t want to go outside. Sometimes you get the Loner Boogie. Follow us into the Cardiff Transport Club for some fish-eye Kung Fu and a Guiness with the legendary Kliph Scurlock. Not sure he’s that into it to be honest though.

The track-listing of the 11-track album, co-produced by the band & Eddie El Shakarchie aka Dr Ed Boogie and recorded in part in Eddie’s front room in Cardiff, is as follows:

1. Breakfast Epiphany
2. Loner Boogie
3. Face Behind Her Cigarette
4. Walking Thompson’s Park
5. Jerry
6. Breakfast Epiphany II
7. Taxi To Your Head
8. Losers In The Tomb
9. Hangover Square
10. Waitin’
11. Sitting On The First Rock From The Sun

They take their loose-limbed live show on the road later this year and the dates include their own headline shows, support slots with The Magic Gang & Rolling Blackouts and Coastal Fever and an appearance at this year’s Heavenly Weekender at the Trades Club in Hebden Bridge.

The list of shows is as follows:


23 – Hebden Bridge, Trades Club


22 – Birmingham, Institute (with Magic Gang)

23 – Manchester, Academy (with Magic Gang)

24 – Leeds, The Church (with Magic Gang)

25 – Glasgow, King Tuts (with Magic Gang)

27 – Bristol, Thekla (with Magic Gang)

28 – London, Electric Ballroom (with Magic Gang)


24 – Bristol, Crofters Rights

25 – Southampton, Heartbreaker

26 – London, Waiting Room

27 – Birmingham, Dark Horse

28 – Cardiff, Clwb Ifor Bach


04 – Sheffield, Café Totum

05 – Leeds, Live At Leeds

06 – Manchester, Sounds From The Other City

11 – Wrexham, Focus Wales @ Central Station

17 – Brighton, The Great Escape (Fender Stage)

18 – Nottingham, Rescue Rooms (with Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever)

20 – Glasgow, CAA (with RBCF)

21 – Manchester, Gorilla (with RBCF)

22 – London, Electric Ballroom (with RBCF)

25 – Amsterdam, London Calling @ Paradisio

26 – Manchester, Strange Waves Festival @ Albert Hall

27 – Tanworth in Arden, Lunar Festival


16 – 19 – Glanusk Park, Green Man Festival

25 – Totnes, Sea Change Festival

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.