NEWS: Phoebe Bridgers & Conor Oberst release surprise album 'Better Oblivion Community Center'

NEWS: Phoebe Bridgers & Conor Oberst release surprise album ‘Better Oblivion Community Center’

Phoebe Bridgers & Conor Oberst have released a surprise debut LP entitled Better Oblivion Community Center. Stream the whole album here:

The rumours percolating since summer
were finally confirmed last night when, at midnight EST, an album entitled Better Oblivion Community Center by Better Oblivion Community Center appeared on DSPs, shortly followed by a live performance of ‘Dylan Thomas’ on the Late Show With Stephen Colbert.

The new band, formed by Phoebe Bridgers and Conor Oberst, kept their plans under wraps for months as they wrote and recorded in Los Angeles in the summer and autumn of 2018.  By the tail end of the year rumours were swirling and a mysterious phone number appeared on social media platforms. Fans of both artists began receiving enigmatic brochures in the mail and a bus stop advertising the Better Oblivion Community Center appeared in their hometown of LA. The album – released by Dead Oceans – appeared, without warning, on DSPs and within the hour the band performed ‘Dylan Thomas’ on The Late Show With Stephen Colbert. 

Co-produced by Bridgers, Oberst and longtime Oberst/Bright Eyes collaborator Andy LeMaster, Better Oblivion Community Center features the work of several talented friends: Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ guitarist Nick Zinner appears on two tracks (first single ‘Dylan Thomas’ and ‘Dominoes’) while Carla Azar (Autolux, Jack White) plays drums on half of the album. Dawes’ rhythm section Wylie Gelber and Griffin Goldsmith appear on the other half. Songwriter Christian Lee Hutson contributes guitar, Anna Butterss provides bass and the record was mixed by John Congleton

Better Oblivion Community Center tracklist:

 1. I Didn’t Know What I Was In For                                 

2. Sleepwalkin’                                                  

3. Dylan Thomas                                                           

4. Service Road                                                 

5. Exception To The Rule                                               

6. Chesapeake

7. My City

8. Forest Lawn

9. Big Black Heart

10. Dominoes


God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.