NEWS: Angel Olsen announces new album 'All Mirrors' & shares new video and European dates

NEWS: Angel Olsen announces new album ‘All Mirrors’ & shares new video and European dates

Angel Olsen will release her fourth full-length album, All Mirrors, on October 4th via Jagjaguwar. Olsen’s bold and unexpected new album comes over three years after the release of MY WOMAN. In conjunction with today’s announcement, Olsen unveils the title track and its video, directed by Ashley Connor and conceived by Olsen watch it here:

Over heavy synth and oscillating percussion, the typically haunting and exquisitely drawn lead single ‘All Mirrors’ navigates between the perception of what one wants to see and reality. “I chose this one as the title because I liked the theme: the theme of how we are all mirrors to and for each other,” says Olsen. “Even if that is not all of it, there is always an element of projection in what we’d like to see in people and scenarios and in the way we see ourselves in those scenarios, with those people.”

In every way–from the making of it, to the words, to how I feel moving forward, this record is about owning up to your darkest side, finding the capacity for new love and trusting change even when you feel like a stranger.” — Angel Olsen

“In creating All Mirrors, Olsen initially planned to work on a dual record release — a set of raw and real solo songs and a full band version of the same songs — both to be released at once. She recorded the solo version with producer Michael Harris in Anacortes, Washington. There, she was determined to keep it bare bones in order to contrast with the not yet recorded full band record. Soon after that was completed, she began work on the more ambitious, fleshed out version with producer John Congleton, with whom she collaborated on 2014’s breakout Burn Your Fire for No Witness, arranger Jherek Bischoff, multi-instrumentalist/ arranger/pre-producer Ben Babbitt, and a 14-piece orchestra.

While remaking the album with full production and new collaborators, Olsen developed a new relationship with control, and as she got further into the process, she realised she “needed to separate these two records and release All Mirrors in its heaviest form. . . It was impossible for me to deny how powerful and surprising the songs had become. The truth is that I may have never allowed this much sonic change in the first place had I not already made an account of the same songs in their purest form.”

As previously announced, the All Mirrors world tour kicks off in October with UK/EU dates including a date at London’s Eventim Apollo beginning in January. All dates are below.

Pre-order All Mirrors here:

All Mirrors tracklist:

1. Lark
2. All Mirrors
3. Too Easy
4. New Love Cassette
5. Spring
6. What It Is
7. Impasse
8. Tonight
9. Summer
10. Endgame
11. Chance

Tour Dates:
(all apart from London announced today)

23 Jan – Lisbon, PT @ ZDB – Capitólio
24 Jan – Porto, PT @ Hard Club
25 Jan – Madrid, ES @ Sala BUT
26 Jan – Barcelona, ES @ Sala Razzmatazz
28 Jan – Geneva, CH @ Festival Antigel
29 Jan – Munich, DE @ Kammerspiele
30 Jan – Berlin, DE @ Huxleys Neue Welt
31 Jan – Copenhagen, DK @ Vega
1 Feb – Oslo, NO @ Rockefeller
3 Feb – Stockholm, SE @ Vasateatern
4 Feb – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
5 Feb – Hamburg, DE @ Gruenspan
6 Feb – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
7 Feb – Antwerp, BE @ De Roma
8 Feb – Paris, FR @ La Cigale
10 Feb – Bristol, UK @ SWX
11 Feb – London, UK @ Eventim Apollo
13 Feb – Manchester, UK @ O2 Ritz
14 Feb – Glasgow, UK @ Barrowland Ballroom

Full dates and tickets can be found here:

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.