NEWS: Manic Street Preachers announce 'Gold Against The Soul' Reissue

NEWS: Manic Street Preachers announce ‘Gold Against The Soul’ Reissue

Manic Street Preachers have confirmed the re-issue of a deluxe edition of their 1993 second album Gold Against The Soul on 12th June 2020 for Columbia/Sony.  Available as a 120 page A4 book featuring unseen images from the bands’ long time photographic collaborator Mitch Ikeda, many personally annotated by Nicky Wire and original typed and handwritten lyrics from the bands own archive. Watch the trailer here:

It will contain two cd’s featuring the remastered album, previously unreleased demos, b-sides from the era, remixes and a live recording of The Clash song ‘What’s My Name’.  There will also be a 180g vinyl version of the original album with download codes to the extra tracks on CD1 and a digital version featuring all the songs.  

Nicky Wire said of the release “We moved our studio a few years ago and I unearthed a lot of demos and pictures from the ‘Gold Against The Soul’ era and thought it would be a shame not to let them see the light of day.  We haven’t always been the most complementary about this album in the past, but with hindsight it was a strange and curious record with many fan’s favourites on it.  James always gets a huge response when he teases the riff to ‘Sleepflower’ live.”  

Gold Against The Soul entered the Top 10 on release just over a year after their debut album ‘Generation Terrorists’ and saw the band shift musically to a classic rock sound. 

Lead single ‘From Despair To Where’ was followed by ‘La Tristesse Durera (Scream To A Sigh)’, ‘Roses In The Hospital’ and ‘Life Becoming A Landslide’.  Produced by Dave Eringa  who had been working in various guises with the band and continues to do so to this day, the album was recorded over six weeks at Outside/Hookend Studios.

As previously announced the band are releasing a very limited 12” single in conjunction with War Child for 2020 Record Store Day on 17th April.  lt features remixes by The Chemical Brothers and Ashley Beedle of two tracks from the album ‘La Tristesse Durera (Scream To A Sigh)’ and ‘Roses In The Hospital’. The band will also be headlining several UK festivals over the summer and play stadiums with Green Day and The Killers. They are currently writing and demoing their 14th studio album.  

Manic Street Preachers  – Gold Against The Soul (reissue) // Columbia/Sony – 12/06/2020

1.           Sleepflower (Remastered)
2.           From Despair To Where (Remastered)
3.     La Tristesse Durera (Scream To A Sigh) [Remastered]
4.       Yourself (Remastered)
5.       Life Becoming a Landslide (Remastered)
6.         Drug Drug Druggy (Remastered)
7.         Roses In The Hospital (Remastered)
8.            Nostalgic Pushead (Remastered)
9.            Symphony of Tourette (Remastered)
10.          Gold Against The Soul (Remastered)
11.          Donkeys (Remastered)
12.          Comfort Comes (Remastered)
13.          Are Mothers Saints (Remastered)
14.          Patrick Bateman (Remastered)
15.          Hibernation (Remastered)
16.          Us Against You (Remastered)
17.          Charles Windsor (Remastered)
18.          Wrote For Luck (Remastered)
19.          What’s My Name (Live) [Remastered]

1. Sleepflower (House in the Woods Demo) [Remastered]
2.  From Despair To Where (House in the Woods Demo) [Remastered]
3.   La Tristesse Durera (Scream To A Sigh) (House in the Woods Demo) [Remastered]
4.  Yourself (Live In Bangkok) [Remastered]
5.  Life Becoming a Landslide (House in the Woods Demo) [Remastered]
6.  Drug Drug Druggy (House in the Woods Demo) [Remastered]
7.  Drug Drug Druggy (Impact Demo) [Remastered]
8.  Roses In The Hospital (House in the Woods Demo) [Remastered]
9.   Roses In The Hospital (Impact Demo) [Remastered]
10.   Nostalgic Pushead (House in the Woods Demo) [Remastered]
11.  Symphony of Tourette (House in the Woods Demo) [Remastered]
12.  Gold Against The Soul (House in the Woods Demo) [Remastered]
13.   Roses In The Hospital (OG Psychovocal Remix) [Remastered]
14.  Roses In The Hospital (51 Funk Salute) [Remastered]
15.  La Tristesse Durera (Scream To A Sigh) (Chemical Brothers Vocal Remix)
16.   Roses In The Hospital (Filet O Gang Remix) [Remastered]
17.   Roses In The Hospital (ECG Remix) [Remastered]

Tour Dates

May 27th | Helsinki Suvilhati, Finland (with Green Day)  

May 29th | Stockholm Tele 2 Arena, Sweden (with Green Day)  

May  31st |Alesund Colorline Stadium, Norway (with Green Day)  

June 9th | Ashton Gate Stadium, Bristol (with The Killers)  

June 11th | Ricoh Stadium, Coventry (with The Killers)  

June 13th | Riverside Stadium, Middlesbrough (with The Killers)  

June 28th | Live At Piece Hall, Halifax  

July 31st | Olavsfest 2020, Norway  

August 8th | Party At The Palace, Linlithgow  

August 29th | Victorious Festival, Portsmouth  

August 30th | Camper Calling 2020, Ragley Hall, Alcester


God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.