NEWS: Hatchie shares catchy neon pop of 'Lights On'

NEWS: Hatchie shares catchy neon pop of ‘Lights On’

Today Hatchie has shared another infectious pop gem from her forthcoming second album, Giving The World Away, which is set for release on April 22nd through Secretly Canadian.

Lights On‘ opens the album with a gorgeous shot of neon pop. With illusions to mid-period Kylie and the hook-laden guitar sounds of the early 90s, glistening guitars, glacial synths and Hatchie’s wonderful vocals bubble into a heady, infinitely catchy chorus that gets intimately entwined with a tumultuous relationship. Watch the video below.

Written with the album’s producer, Jorge Elbrecht, during a session in LA in 2020, Hatchie elaborates on the track saying “It started with a drumbeat inspired by Siouxsie and the Banshees’ ‘Kiss Them For Me’,  which we had been chatting about the night before when we met up to discuss references for the record. The song is about a tumultuous, secret relationship that is coming to a crossroads. Feeling completely and utterly spellbound by one another, but realising it might not work out despite the fact that no one else has ever made you feel as good as they do. I feel the biggest emotional attachment to this song because it was like a lightbulb moment after feeling unsure of my writing abilities and what direction I wanted to take the album in. I avoided co-writing with anyone other than Joe (Agius) for years because I didn’t think I would thrive in that setting but the two days we worked with Jorge completely changed my mind.”

‘Lights On’ follows the euphoric, hacienda-ready track ‘Giving The World Away,’ striking yet moody ‘Quicksand,’ and lead single ‘This Enchanted,’ marking the start of a chapter in which Hatchie infuses her dazzling dream-pop and shoegaze tangle with a deeper and more honest portrayal of herself. “There’s more to me than just writing songs about being in love or being heartbroken — there’s a bigger picture than that,” she explains. “This album really just feels like the beginning to me, and scratching the surface – and even though it’s my third release as Hatchie, I feel like I’m rebooting from scratch.”

‘Giving the World Away’ is a sprawling work. Featuring extensive input from longtime Hatchie collaborator Joe Agius, it takes the celestial, shimmering shoegaze and pop sensibilities of her earlier releases, but with the volume knob cranked up tenfold. Built out with percussion from Beach House drummer James Barone, its synthed-out, sonic opulence, a more structured and ornate musicality with traces of ‘90s trip-hop and acid house influences.

‘Giving the World Away’ is an album about self-confidence, about reclamation, about the strange time in young adulthood where you begin to finally be able to see yourself clearly. Incisive and probing, it is the clearest look at Hatchie yet, and a relic of the power and bravery that spring forth from embracing vulnerability and putting your heart on the line.

‘Giving The World Away’ will be released on April 22nd on Secretly Canadian. Pre-order & pre-sale links here.

Giving The World Away’ tracklist:
1. Lights On – Official video
2. This Enchanted – Official video
3. Twin
4. Take My Hand
5. The Rhythm
6. Quicksand – Official video
7. Thinking Of
8. Giving The World Away – Lyric video
9. The Key
10. Don’t Leave Me In The Rain
11. Sunday Song
12. Til We Run Out of Air

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.