NEWS: Fable announces debut album 'Shame'

NEWS: Fable announces debut album ‘Shame’

Today, Fable has announced details of her debut album Shame, due on 20th May via Naim Records. The announcement comes accompanied by the release of the title track ‘Shame’, out now with a striking video directed by Matt Hutchings.

The brilliant ‘Shame’ is underpinned by spindly fingered synths, swaying beats and Fable’s excellent vocal juxtaposing verses that rifle through the overwhelming aspects of modern life and punctuates them with catchy exclamations. ‘Shame‘ laments the state of the world and the uphill battle her generation faces and is emphasised by a powerfully hyper-fake video that delves into themes of overconsumption, vanity and toxic media.

Shame masquerades as a sleek pop song, but when you unpack the themes it’s uneasy in its skin. I wrote the synth arpeggio first and built the vocal around my beat and brought it to the studio where Jonas Persson and I turned into this sharp, melancholic pop track. It’s about the feeling of impending pressure in the modern world being met with ever increasing resistance to do anything differently.

“I think it’s really important that people take what they want from the video. Our generation needs to relate differently to our history than previous ones, as we try to reclaim our identity, separate from the one history has handed us. Working with my visual collaborator, Matt Hutchings, I wanted to broaden the scope a little more and ask some searching questions about the nature of shame and the state of society right now,” Fable explains.

Having last year relaunched an impressive fledgling career that had already included performing at Glastonbury and collaborating with Orbital, Fable returned last year with the trip-hop and neo-soul blending ‘Orbiting’, which has racked up over a million streams, and the emotionally introspective ‘Womb’. Signed to Naim Records, the label wing of the award-winning premium audio brand, and an ambassador for mental health charity My Black Dog, she has recorded a debut album of genre-fluid, searingly honest and darkly beautiful music that spans from urgent post-punk to introspective electronica, whilst posing questions that are both timely and personal.

Shame tracklist: 

Fall Away
Guilt of The Act
Heal Yourself
The Reaper
Onion Brain

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.