NEWS: Momma share video for awesome anthem 'Speeding 72'

NEWS: Momma share video for awesome anthem ‘Speeding 72’

Momma, the band led by singers/guitarists Allegra Weingarten and Etta Friedman, today announced Household Name, their new album, will be released on July 1st, 2022.  They have also shared the video for the album’s ace lead single ‘Speeding 72‘, which tells the narrative of a fast-burning romance between two kids who meet at a show and go for a ride. The fuzzy see-sawing riffs of the chorus are a nod to Pavement’s ‘Gold Soundz’ and laden with infectious-sparring Breeders-like harmonies. Get behind the wheel and speed down the highway, leave your cares behind to this anthemic summer anthem!

Its Madeline Leshner and Zach Stone-directed, part The Breakfast Club inspired, the video perfectly captures the song’s spirit: cruising around in the summer with your friends with no real destination, windows down and blasting out music.

“Speeding 72” is probably the most collaboratively written song on the new record. We wanted it to be the sort of summertime anthem that you can turn on during a drive to impress your crush,” explains the band. “The most important part of the production was setting the right mood to transport the listener. The song starts with Aron getting into his car (which is featured on the album cover), and then turning on the ignition.”

Fresh off a series of dates with Wet Leg, the band’s new full-length Household Name reveals an exciting new chapter marked by growth. Now based in Brooklyn, New York, after relocating from hometown Los Angeles, the duo upgraded from GarageBand and took their time writing and recording in a proper studio alongside multi-instrumentalist/producer Aron Kobayashi Ritch.

“The resulting album, mastered by Grammy-winning engineer Emily Lazar, is a tightly stitched collection that is magnetic and dynamic, and also marks their debut for Lucky Number, who signed Momma in the midst of the pandemic before the band members had even finished college. In chasing their idols and embracing personal storytelling, the band has skill-fully carved out their own path. Household Name showcases an unfettered vulnerability elevated by serious alt-rock bombast and is an album that tells the world: this is Momma.”

“Across the album’s 12 songs, Weingarten and Friedman, who met and formed Momma in high school, cull lyrical inspiration from their own lives for the first time–a contrast with the conceptual fiction of Two of Me. Bygone heroes also helped inspire a lyrical theme throughout Household Name: the rise and fall of the rock star, and the tropes and tribulations that come with that arc. The theme allowed the group to celebrate (and, in some cases, directly reference) icons like Nirvana, Pavement, Smashing Pumpkins, Veruca Salt, and the Breeders’ Kim Deal, while weaving in their own perspective and experiences.”

‘Speeding 72’ follows previous album singles ‘Rockstar’ and ‘Medicine.’

After supporting Wet Leg on sold-out West Coast shows last month, the band will shortly commence a much-anticipated UK stint of dates. The band will be headlining London’s Brixton Windmill on Tuesday 10th May and Manchester’s Yes on Saturday 14th May and open for Illuminati Hotties in Leeds on Friday 6th May, as well as performing in Glasgow and Brighton for The Great Escape Festival. The band will also be supporting Snail Mail on her US tour.

Household Name by Momma  is out July 1st on Lucky Number


  1. Rip Off
  2. Speeding 72
  3. Medicine
  4. Rockstar
  5. Motorbike
  6. Tall Home
  7. Lucky
  8. Brave
  9. Callin Me
  10. Spider
  11. No Stage
  12. No Bite

UK Tour Dates: 


6 – Leeds, UK – Belgrave Music Hall *
7 – Glasgow, UK – King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut
10 – London, UK – Brixton Windmill
13 – Brighton, UK – The Great Escape
14 – Manchester, UK – Yes

w/Illuminati Hotties

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.