God Is In The TV > News > NEWS: Stella Donnelly returns with new album ‘Flood’, new single ‘Lungs’ & World Tour

NEWS: Stella Donnelly returns with new album ‘Flood’, new single ‘Lungs’ & World Tour

unnamed 278 1 scaled

Stella Donnelly has returned, announcing her new album, Flood, out 26th August on Secretly Canadian, and a world tour (on sale on Friday, 13th May).

She has also shared the album’s lead single/video, ‘Lungs’. Following 2019’s Beware of the DogsFlood is Donnelly’s record of rediscovery: “The product of months of risky experimentation, hard moments of introspection, and a lot of transition. Like the many Banded Stilts that spread across the cover, Donnelly is wading into uncharted territory, learning who she is as an artist, and how abundant one individual can be.”

Supple lead single ‘Lungs’ marries crafty percussion with intricate instrumentation and a myriad of insightful couplets given life by multifaceted harmonies, we hear her plead, “History again teach me like a friend what you know and why,” and this curiosity extends into many of the songs exploring relationships, be them familial, romantic or platonic. “I do love observing human dynamics,” Donnelly says. “Dynamics between old best friends, or dynamics between housemates, or a relationship where the two people are broken up and haven’t spoken in years. I like getting into the mind of someone who we’ve all been at some point.” This interest expresses itself in a unique way on the record as Donnelly regularly “plays dress-up,” adopting different faces and personas to help her distil her truest self. In ‘Lungs’ she writes from the point of view of a child whose family has just been evicted.

Donnelly co-directed the video for ‘Lungs’ with Duncan Wright. She comments, “Very loosely based on the Banded Stilts of my album cover, the character I play in red is a wobbly adult, doing their best with their new set of legs and responsibilities, trying to make it look easy but very much on unsteady ground. I wanted this video to celebrate the child, firm in their footholds, intimidatingly honest, not to be messed with, they are the strength and power of this video no matter how much I try to assert myself as the boss. The clip is choreographed by Donnelly’s childhood friends, sisters Billie, Nikki, and Stevie Tanner, who run the Tanner Dance Academy. “They weaved so much beauty in their choreography and also let the dancers apply their own take to the movements which really shines through in the static shots. Grace Goodwin who produced, set-designed and costumed the clip was integral in creating my stilted character and creating a point of difference between that and my child self.”

During her time in the rainforests of Australia’s Bellingen, one of the many cities she lived in throughout her time writing this album, Donnelly took to birdwatching. By paying closer attention to the natural world around her, she was “able to lose that feeling of anyone’s reaction to me. I forgot who I was as a musician, which was a humbling experience of just being; being my small self.” Reconnecting with the ‘small self’ allowed Donnelly to tap into creative wells she didn’t know existed; she wrote 43 tracks as she moved out of Bellingen and around the country.

With new locations came new approaches. Donnelly wrote with band members Jennifer Aslett, George Foster, Jack Gaby and Marcel Tussie, which at times felt like experimental kindergarten play, and co-produced the record alongside Anna Laverty and Methyl Ethyl’s Jake Webb who helped foster an important spontaneity in the studio.

Stella Donnelly Tour Dates

Fri. May. 13 – Brighton, UK @ The Great Escape Festival

Sat. May. 14 – Brighton, UK @ The Great Escape Festival

Sun. Sept. 11 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah

Mon. Sept. 12 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda

Tue. Sept. 13 – San Francisco, CA @ Independent

Thu. Sept. 15 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios

Fri. Sept. 16 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret

Sat. Sept. 17 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos

Wed. Sept. 21 – Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line Music Cafe

Thu. Sept. 22 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall

Fri. Sept. 23 – Detroit, MI @ Sanctuary

Sat. Sept. 24 – Toronto, ON @ Longboat Hall

Mon. Sept. 26 – Boston, MA @ Crystal Ballroom

Wed. Sept. 28 – Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere

Fri. Sept. 30 – Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live

Sat. Oct. 1 – Washington, DC @ Songbyrd

Tue. Nov. 1 – Leeds, UK @ Wardrobe

Wed. Nov. 2 – Glasgow @ Mono

Thu. Nov. 3 – Manchester @ Band On The Wall

Fri. Nov. 4 – Dublin, IE @ Whelan’s

Sun. Nov. 6 – Liverpool, UK @ Zanzibar

Tue. Nov. 8 Nottingham, UK @ Metronome

Wed. Nov. 9 – Bristol, UK @ Thekla

Thu. Nov. 10 – London, UK @ Electric Brixton

Sat. Nov. 12 – Cardiff, UK @ The Gate

Sun. Nov. 13 – Birmingham, UK @ Hare and Hounds

Mon. Nov. 14 – Brighton, UK @ Komedia

Wed. Nov. 16 – Paris, FR @  FMR

Thu. Nov. 17 – Cologne, DE @ Artheatre

Fri. Nov. 18 – Brussels, BE @ Rotonde – Botanique

Sat. Nov. 19 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet

Mon. Nov. 21 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow Skybar

Tue. Nov. 22 – Copenhagen, DK @ Hotel Cecil

Thu. Nov. 24 – Berlin, DE @ Badehaus

Fri. Nov. 25 – Munich, DE @ Strom w/ Julia Jacklin

 

Flood Tracklist

  1. Lungs

  2. How Was Your Day?

  3. Restricted Account

  4. Underwater

  5. Medals

  6. Move Me

  7. Flood

  8. This Week

  9. Oh My My My

  10. Morning Silence

  11. Cold

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

God Is In The TV