NEWS: The Lounge Society announce debut album 'Tired of Liberty' and release new single ahead of sets at The Great Escape and debut headline tour

NEWS: The Lounge Society announce debut album ‘Tired of Liberty’ and release new single ahead of sets at The Great Escape and debut headline tour

The Lounge Society have confirmed their debut album Tired of Liberty which will be released on the Speedy Wunderground label on 26 August.  It is produced by Dan Carey whose work has recently landed No. 1 albums with both Wet Leg and Fontaines D.C.

In addition The Lounge Society have released their first new music since ‘Last Breath‘ in October 2021.  ‘Blood Money’ continues the theme of questioning the state of the nation and despairing of the decision-makers and their questionable behaviour.  Musically there is a fire and a passion driving this band.  Their world view spills over into the music which is delivered with a passion.

The band expa​nds further on the single:

“’Blood Money’ is a reaction to the culture of greed that’s seeping into the corridors of power across the world.  It’s a reminder that ultimately, we all suffer at the hands of self-serving elites, and it’s our personal perspective on the effects of dirty politics on the everyday lives of ourselves and people we know.  For us it’s a song that completely captures this record and us as a band.  It feels like the perfect development from our previous releases to our debut album and exactly how this record should be introduced.  The balance of driving guitar riffs and the groove of the drums and bass is sort of a snapshot of the album.  We’d never claim to be a purely dance based band and we’d never claim to be a purely guitar riff-based band because it’s the combination of the two which excites us.

On ‘Blood Money’ it felt like in the studio we took our sound to a different level.  We approached the album recording in a totally fresh way to how we have recorded in the past and we got exactly what we wanted.  We had good friends & Speedy label mates of ours Anouska (Honeyglaze) and Jojo (Heartworms) do some extra vocals in the chorus, and it really elevated it and gave it an almost operatic feel which was amazing to see develop in the studio.”

The band will be appearing at The Great Escape in Brighton and will embark on their debut UK headline tour in September and October. See below for details.

24 Sept – Float Along Festival, Sheffield, UK
25 Sept – Bodega, Nottingham, UK
26 Sept – Broadcast, Glasgow, UK
27 Sept – Sneaky Petes, Edinburgh, UK
29 Sept – Brudenell, Leeds, UK
30 Sept – Gorilla, Manchester, UK
02 Oct – Patterns, Brighton, UK
04 Oct – Village Underground, London, UK
06 Oct – Joiners, Southampton, UK
08 Oct – Trades Club, Hebden Bridge, UK

Credit:  Alex Evans

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.