NEWS: Poster Paints share details of debut album & Swooning new single 'Falling Hard'

NEWS: Poster Paints share details of debut album & Swooning new single ‘Falling Hard’

One of our ones to watch in 2022, Poster Paints have announced details self-titled debut album, to be released on 14th October via Ernest Jenning Record Co. / Olive Grove Records.

NEWS: Poster Paints share details of debut album & Swooning new single 'Falling Hard'

Alongside the announcement the band have released the gorgeous lead single ‘Falling Hard’ alongside a visual directed by Austin Temby, watch it below. Marrying spiralling guitars of Simon Liddell with the husky, swooning vocal melodies of Carla J Easton, relentless and irresistible ‘Falling Hard’ chases dreams all summer, in a soaring lovelorn pop song.

Vocalist Carla J Easton had to say on the single…

“This song was a bit of a writing experiment. Si sent me the track which is 3 minutes of summer guitar pop. I had recently been doing a lot of free writing in the morning (where you write non-stop without thinking and the only rule is to fill 3 pages of your notebook – also called ‘Morning Pages’) and had ended up down a route recalling an ill-fated attempt to get what I want one hot Summer and subsequently falling from grace, splitting my shin open in the process. But I never gave up. It’s a relentless 3 minutes of chasing dreams born from the uncensored pages of my notebook.”

Poster Paints are Carla J Easton and Simon Liddell.  Two beloved Scottish musicians who orbited through the same thriving music scene, Carla as an award-winning solo artist and member of TeenCanteen and Simon as part of Frightened Rabbit and Olympic Swimmers, who were introduced by Eugene Kelly and ‎Frances McKee‎ of The Vaselines. The pair seemed destined to collaborate, yet the musical outfit they created happened purely by chance.

“The project started as an accident before the pandemic kicked off” says Carla, “Si had sent me an instrumental for a piece he had scored for a short film and asked if I could put some vocals on it. I completely misunderstood what he was asking me to do and wrote an entire song to the piece of music and emailed it back to him. When harsh lockdowns kicked in, we both decided we would try and do some more songs like this – it was a way to keep collaborating when you couldn’t even go for a walk outside with someone from another household never mind be in a rehearsal room with someone.”

Applying for funding through Creative Scotland meant the pair’s immediate musical chemistry thrived in the subsequent months and allowed the remote working that had worked so well extend out across the globe, roping in friends from the USA (Gabbie Coenan AKA RVBY MY DEAR), Canada (Andrew Chung and Laura Hickli) as well as across Scotland (Jonny Scott from CHVRCHES who played drums across the entire record, Lomond CampbellGraeme Smillie from Arab StrapSuse Bear from Pictish Trail, Andy Monaghan from Frightened Rabbit and Amanda Williams AKA AMA JANE) as collaborators on their debut album.

The band released their debut single ‘Number 1’ last year, the track was described as “reverb-splattered, riotous guitar melodies and supercharged vocals with jangle-pop primacy” (The Line of Best Fit) and received extensive play from Marc Riley via BBC 6Music, BBC Introducing and BBC Radio Scotland. It was released on vinyl postcard for Record Store Day, with both tracks supported by Creative Scotland. They followed with a surprise release EP ‘Blood Orange’, a brace of headline shows and support slots with Belle & Sebastian, Admiral Fallow and Teenage Fanclub.


  1. Still Got You
  2. Number One
  3. Not Sorry
  4. Never Saw It Coming
  5. Circus Moving On
  6. Falling Hard
  7. Ribbons ft. Lomond Campbell
  8. Rupture
  9. Hard To Sweeten
  10. My Song

Live Dates


15th  – Doune The Rabbit Hole (Festival)


6th –  Summerhall, Edinburgh (supporting Sacred Paws) 

26th– Jupiter Rising (Festival)

Twitter / Instagram / Spotify / Bandcamp

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.