NEWS: The Cure announce 30th Anniversary reissue of 'Wish'

NEWS: The Cure announce 30th Anniversary reissue of ‘Wish’

The Cure are set to release a 30th anniversary edition of their classic album Wish out on the 7th of October. Pressed on vinyl for the first time, plus a 3-CD collection packed with 24 previously-unreleased tracks of demos, outtakes and live recordings. The double vinyl set will follow on 25th November.

The band’s ninth studio album was originally issued on 21st April 1992 and featured the hits ‘Friday I’m In Love’, ‘High’ and ‘A Letter To Elise’. One of their most commercially successful releases it was the group’s first – and to date, only – Number 1 album in the UK.

As an extra bonus, the tracks from the rare Lost Wishes cassette will be included – these four instrumental outtakes from the album sessions were originally released on a mail-order only cassette in 1993. Fans will be able to buy a replica of the tape as part of the new 30th anniversary package and the opening track, ‘Uyea Sound” has been remixed and released as a trailer for the new collection. Listen below.

Robert Smith says of the album: “There’s a side to the album which I had kind of forgotten, a very gentle, yearning thing which is quite beautiful. Trust is one of the best things we’ve ever done I think, it’s played with great feeling, and To Wish Impossible Things is another gorgeous, melancholic piece… in fact it could well be my favourite song on the record.”

The Cure's Wish album will be back on vinyl for the first time in 30 years
Picture: UMC/Fiction

The Cure – Wish 30th anniversary deluxe edition tracklisting:

CD1 Original Album Remastered by Robert Smith and Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios

  1. Open
  2. High
  3. Apart
  4. From The Edge of The Green Sea
  5. Wendy Time
  6. Doing The Unstuck
  7. Friday I’m In Love
  8. Trust
  9. A Letter To Elise
  10. Cut
  11. To Wish Impossible Things
  12. End

CD2 Demos – All previously unreleased versions

  1. The Big Hand [1990 Demo]
  2. Cut [1990 Demo] aka “Away”
  3. A Letter To Elise [1990 Demo] aka “Cut”
  4. Wendy Time [1990 Demo]
  5. This Twilight Garden [Instrumental Demo]
  6. Scared As You [Instrumental Demo]
  7. To Wish Impossible Things [Instrumental Demo]
  8. Apart [Instrumental Demo]
  9. T7 [Instrumental Demo]
  10. Now Is The Time [Instrumental demo]
  11. Miss van Gogh [Instrumental demo]
  12. T6 [Instrumental Demo]
  13. Play [Instrumental Demo]
  14. A Foolish Arrangement [Instrumental Demo]
  15. Halo [Instrumental Demo]
  16. Trust [Instrumental Demo]
  17. Abetabw [Instrumental Demo]
  18. T8 [Instrumental Demo]
  19. Heart Attack [Instrumental Demo]
  20. Swing Change [Instrumental Demo]
  21. Frogfish [Instrumental Demo]

CD3: Lost Wishes / Studio Out-Takes / 12” Remixes / Live / Rare / Previously Unreleased.

  1. Uyea Sound [Dim-D Mix]
  2. Cloudberry [Dim-D Mix]
  3. Off To Sleep… [Dim-D Mix]
  4. The Three Sisters [Dim-D Mix]
  5. A Wendy Band [Instrumental]
  6. From The Edge Of The Deep Green Sea [Partscheckruf Mix]
  7. Open [Fix Mix]
  8. High [Higher Mix]
  9. Doing The Unstuck [Extended 12” Mix]
  10. Friday I’m In Love [Strangelove Mix]
  11. A Letter To Elise [Blue Mix]
  12. End [Paris Live 92]

Robert Smith says he had a plan for the making of Wish, which was the follow-up to the hugely successful Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me (1987) and Disintegration (1989): “The overall sound was in my head from the start. We used a pretty small palette of sounds, as we did with Disintegration, but managed to create a lot of different kinds of song with it. I think Kiss Me was more of a reference than Disintegration. In the studio control room it all sounded excellent, but I got too busy sorting out our upcoming concerts to properly oversee the mastering. It was too late to do anything about it; the album was out, and we were off around the world again. It has really bugged for me for a very long time.

“It has taken 30 years, but finally, finally my Wish has come true.”

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.