Laura Dean’s Albums of the Year 2022 2

Laura Dean’s Albums of the Year 2022

It’s the most wonderful time of the year – Christmas decorations are up, Mariah Carey’s defrosted and end of year lists are being published left, right and centre.

The God is in the TV team are big fans of end of year lists – particularly when it comes to albums. Not only do they allow us to share our recommendations and enthusiasm with our readers, but they offer us the opportunity to take another look at the albums that have shaped our year

Without further ado, I present my top ten albums of 2022…

10. The Wombats – Fix Yourself, Not the World

Earlier this year, indie rock trio The Wombats released their fifth album, Fix Yourself, Not the World – offering a blend of danceable beats, atmospheric mellowness and tongue-in-cheek lyrics that cements their position as one of the most successful bands to come out of the UK indie scene. Though tracks including the frenetic ‘Ready for the High’ and electro-pop number ‘If You Ever Leave I’m Coming With You’ offer the infectiously catchy sound that we’ve come to associate with the band. Though that’s not to say that there are no surprises and the album introduces a more mature sound that incorporates pop, funk electronica and even R&B – from confident pop tracks such as ‘Wildfire’ to the downtempo ‘Everything I Love Is Going To Die’.

9. Jamie T – The Theory of Whatever

July brought us Jamie T’s first album in nearly six years and it was well worth the wait. The Londoners DIY musical style has provided a soundtrack for a generation of people and The Theory of Whatever is another triumph to add to the list. From raucous tracks such as ‘The Old Style Raiders’ and ‘Sabre Tooth’ to the subtle slow-burner ‘St. George Wharf Tower’, the album perfectly captures the indie-rock survivors talent for storytelling and and demonstrates why he’s one of Britain’s most beloved cult musicians.

8. Alfie Templeman Mellow Moon

Having set himself up to be one of most prevalent faces on the indie scene, Alfie Templeman released his debut album Mellow Moon in May and it certainly doesn’t disappoint. From the synth fuelled ‘Candyfloss’ to the jazz influenced ‘Take Some Time Away’, the bedroom-pop artist effortlessly hops between genres. Exploring the issues and emotions that go hand in hand with being part of the current generation, Mellow Moon possesses a maturity that was absent from Alfie’s previous releases. 

7. Yeah Yeah Yeahs Cool It Down

Cool It Down – the fifth studio album from Yeah Yeah Yeahs – is a collection of eight tracks that demonstrate the band’s expert craftsmanship. Sometimes when an album’s short, you can feel a bit cheated, but this isn’t the case at all with Cool It Down – each track is finely tuned and there’s no filler in sight. Though some fans may feel slightly disgruntled that the album lacks the urgency and discordance of the band’s earlier material, it’s a distillation of the New York trios strengths that perfectly encapsulates their refreshing desire to look forward.

6. The Snuts – Burn the Empire

The Snuts famously campaigned their own record label to release their second album early and based on the body of work that they presented, they were right to do so. From the moment that the Scots kick off proceedings with the snarling title track, the band mean business and what follows is a strong selection of tracks that range from swaggering psychedelia to pure angst. Though we know from the band’s debut album that they’re more than capable of putting a hold on the urgent excitement that’s laced through their music and they do exactly that on the acoustic ‘Yesterday’ and cinematic masterpiece, ‘Pigeons in New York’.

5. Day Wave – Past Life

June saw the release of Pastlife – the second studio album from Day Wave, which is the project of singer and instrumentalist, Jackson Phillips. Described as a coming-of-age album for 30-year-olds, Past Life is heavily focused on change – particularly the changes that have taken place since he began the project in 2014. From living alone to losing friends to their careers and/or romantic relationships, the album perfectly captures the existential alienation that’s created by the simple passage of time.

4. Foals Life Is Yours

Earlier this year, Foals released ‘2am’ – described by Foals front man, Yannis Philippakis as a postcard from the past and one of the poppiest songs that the band have ever written, the upbeat track perfectly set the tone for their seventh album, Life Is Yours. Released in the height of Summer, the album boasts irresistible rhythms, pulsating beats and playful guitar hooks. Bursting with the same energy that the indie rockers pour into their live sets, Life Is Yours is Foals at their best. 

3. Metronomy Small World

Metronomy frontman Joe Mount’s songwriting shines as brightly as ever on their latest album, Small World. Diverting from their lively, synth fuelled sound, Small World sees the five piece strip things back as they explore unknown territories. With their vibrant spirit still at large, the band deliver a charming array of tracks – ranging from the melodious ‘Things Will Be Fine’ to the playful ‘Love Factory’.

2. Sea Girls – Homesick

There’s a reason that the term ‘difficult second album’ exists, but failure to live up to the high standards of their debut album isn’t something that Sea Girls have to worry about. Whilst they’ve maintained the same glossy indie sound that they shot to success with, that’s not where their potential ends and they’ve proved this with the element of maturity that’s laced throughout Homesick.  Though Homesick showcases some of the band’sel rawest lyrics yet, it’s not a melancholic album and the band have continued to deliver the uplifting singalong anthems that got them where they are today – from the melodious ‘Sick’ to ‘Paracetamol Blues’, with its delicate lyrics that offer an insight into insecurity.

1. Johnny Marr – Fever Dreams Pts.1-4 

My album of the year is Johnny Marr Fever Dreams Pts. 1-4 – an album that I confidently labelled as just that upon reviewing it less than months into 2022. Though renowned for his status as a guitar icon, Fever Dreams Pts. 1-4 perfectly illustrates Johnny’s versatility and talents for song writing, production and vocals. Released as a double album that consists of sixteen tracks, the album hosts some of Johnny’s most poignant lyrics (‘Human’) and exhilarating guitar work (‘Hideaway Girl’) to date, alongside striking instrumentation from his powerhouse of a band. 2022 marks ten years of Johnny’s time with his current band and their talents shine brightly throughout the album – from eerie, menacing vibes of ‘Rubicon’ to the bass heavy ‘The Speed of Love’.

Laura Dean’s Albums of the Year 2022 2

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.