NEWS: Spare Snare announce twelfth album produced by Steve Albini

NEWS: Spare Snare announce twelfth album produced by Steve Albini

Dundee’s Spare Snare will mark their thirtieth anniversary with the release of their twelfth album.

Entitled The Brutal, the ten track album will be released on the band’s own Chute Records, via Republic Of Music, distributed through Universal. It was recorded in Leith last year by the legendary Steve Albini, whose extensive list of credits includes Nirvana, PJ Harvey and the Wedding Present, in addition to having worked with Spare Snare before on their Sounds album in 2018. He was assisted by Rod Jones of Idlewild.

The album tracklisting is as follows:

  1. Brutal
  2. Hold Your Sex
  3. Ring To Me
  4. Bleached Out Rainbows
  5. Wifi
  6. I Have You
  7. Have A Go
  8. Hey Won’t You
  9. Where Does It All Go
  10. That’s About It

The album features legendary wind players Gary Barnacle and Terry Edwards, who met for the first time on the session, duetting on more than half the album.

The first track to be released from the album is ‘Ring To Me,’ which may be streamed below.

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.