Berkley horizonal 6

NEWS: Berkley releases single ‘Fiesta Day’ from forthcoming debut album Pueblo

Berkley has unveiled the video for ‘Fiesta Day.’ It’s the second track to be released from his forthcoming debut Pueblo, which will be released on September 1 on Portland label Big Secret Records, following on from ‘Fiesta Day.’

Talking about the track, Berkley explains: ‘The passage of summer to Fall [Autumn] in my hometown of Pueblo, Colorado is marked by this parade that takes place during an event called Fiesta Day. That time of year always reminds me of when a high school friend dropped out, seemed to change his identity, and left town. I was heartbroken and bitter about it until I wrote this song and realized I could have been a better friend and noticed why he did that. This is a song that sums up the album’s purpose well — taking responsibility for your part in the past and forgiving yourself, hoping others will too.’ On the track he pleads with his estranged friend: ‘Berkley pleads with the estranged: I don’t want you near / but I wish you were here / please understand me before the end of the world.

The video may be seen below. It’s inspired by the first-person experimental video game Paratopic, which switches players’ perspective and place in time, the accompanying video takes viewers through different moments and locales in Berkley’s life, from a stretch of interstate in pre-COVID New Mexico to Berkley’s early 2000s high school years, his 20s spent in Los Angeles, and a 2008 sold-out performance in a northern Colorado theater. All footage was captured by the artist in his efforts to audio-visual cataloge his career.

The album tracklisting for Pueblo is as follows:

  1. Pueblo Nights
  2. Emsail
  3. Your Place
  4. Oldies
  5. California King Bed
  6. High School Tears
  7. Say Nothing
  8. Decade
  9. Dark Energy
  10. Fiesta Day

The album may be pre-ordered on CD or vinyl via Berkley’s Bandcamp page here.

Berkley horizonal 6

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.