The Mars Volta return in March with their sixth album ‘Noctourniquet’



Following news that At The Drive In are to reform you might have thought that all would be quiet on the Mars Volta front but worry not they have announced details of their sixth album release for March.Known for such landmark releases as  De-Loused In The Comatorium and Frances The Mute and 2008’s The Bedlam In Goliath which featured Best Hard Rock Performance Grammy winner “Wax Simulacra,” The Mars Volta returns  with its sixth album: Noctourniquet which will be released March 26 by Warner Bros.A full track listing is posted at the band’s website. For further information, tour dates, etc. please go to:

 While Noctourniquet was, in typical Mars Volta fashion, written by Omar Rodriguez-Lopez and Cedric Bixler-Zavala and produced by Rodriguez-Lopez, the 13-track album explores musical territories previously uncharted in the duo’s 20 or so years of creating music together.

 The bold diversity of the new material combined with Rodriguez-Lopez’s assured producer’s hand guiding The Mars Volta’s most confident and refined performances to date make Noctourniquet an early contender for this year’s most challenging and rewarding listen.  As with previous Mars Volta efforts, Bixler-Zavala’s lyrics trace a narrative journey with a defined protagonist, this time inspired by disparate elements including ’80s UK alt-rockers The Godfathers, Superman comic nemesis Solomon Grundy and the Greek myth of Hyacinthus. iTunes will commence pre-orders for Noctourniquet from February 14th. Fans who pre-order the album from iTunes will receive the album’s first single, “The Malkin Jewel”, as an instant gratification track. Noctourniquet was performed by The Mars Volta lineup of Omar Rodriguez-Lopez, Cedric Bixler-Zavala, Juan Alderete de la Pena, Marcel Rodriguez Lopez, and Deantoni Parks.

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.