Antony and the Johnsons announce new album

Antony and the Johnsons announce new album

Antony the Johnsons

Antony & the Johnsons will release their fifth album ‘Cut The World’ on 6th August 2012 via Rough Trade Records. The album is a collection of live symphonic recordings from the group’s four full-length studio albums (‘Antony & the Johnsons’, ‘I Am A Bird Now’, ‘The Crying Light’, ‘Swanlights’) and represents frontman Antony Hegarty’s continued meditation on light, nature and femininity. ‘Cut The World’ was recorded in 2011 in Copenhagen, Denmark with the Danish National Chamber Orchestra and features arrangements by Nico Muhly, Rob Moose, Maxim Moston and Antony. The title track ‘Cut The World’ is a brand new track and is the only studio-recorded song on the album.

Antony has made this video for the album track ‘Future Feminism’, a speech he made during one of the concerts.  The speech addresses the affects of patriarchy on the global ecology and explores the possibility of shifting towards feminine systems of governance in a gesture to restore our world:


‘Cut The World’ Tracklisting:
1. Cut the World
2. Future Feminism
3. Cripple and the Starfish
4. You Are My Sister
5. Swanlights
6. Epilepsy Is Dancing
7. Another World
8. Kiss My Name
9. I Fell In Love With a Dead Boy
10. The Rapture
11. The Crying Light
12. Twilight

Meltdown Festival:
Antony has been invited to follow in the footsteps of the likes of Nick Cave, Jarvis Cocker, Patti Smith and David Bowie and curate this year’s Meltdown festival at London’s Southbank Centre from 1st-12th August. Acts confirmed so far for the 12 days of music, debate and performance include Elizabeth Fraser, Marc Almond and Marina Abramovic.

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.