Virgin Records 40th anniversary: Forty tracks from the labels back catalogue Part 4.

Concluding my forty ‘choice’ picks from the Virgin Records back catalogue for the labels 40th anniversary this last selection breathes in quasi-primal avant-jazz; ethereal crooning from the morose expanses; progressive trance; boogie down Bronx bravado; Stone-esque paean’s from a northern soul; Floydian space blues; Suburban angst; and much, much more.

XTC White Music LP cover

The Mekons ‘Dan Dare’ single and featured on The Quality Of Mercy Is Not Strnen LP, released 1979.

The Members ‘The Sound Of The Suburbs’ single and featured on the At The Chelsea Nightclub LP, released 1979.

Robert Wyatt ‘Team Spirit’ from the Ruth Is Stranger Than Richard LP, released 1975.

Scott Walker ‘Track Three (Informal Title: Delayed)’ from the Climate Of The Hunter LP, released 1986.

Sven Väth ‘Scorpio’s Movement’ from the Fusion LP, released 1998.

T La Rock Lyrical King LP cover

T La Rock ‘Back To Burn’ single and featured on the Lyrical King (From The Boogie Down Bronx) LP, released 1987.

The Verve ‘On Your Own’ single and featured on the Northern Soul LP, released 1995.

Van Der Graaf Generator ‘Masks’ from the World Record LP, released 1976.

X Ray Spex ‘Oh Bondage Up Yours!’ single, released 1977.

XTC ‘Radios In Motion’ from the White Music LP, released 1978.

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.