Damon Albarn announces debut solo record 'Everyday Robots' & Latitude Headline Slot

Damon Albarn announces debut solo record ‘Everyday Robots’ & Latitude Headline Slot


Damon Albarn has revealed news of his first solo record – titled Everyday Robots which will be released by Parlophone on 28th April 2014.Watch the somewhat downbeat melody interspersed with string samples of the lead track below. Damon Albarn will headline at Latitude Festival on Saturday 19th July 2014 with a band including guitarist Seye, drummer Pauli The PSM, bassist Jeff Wootton and Mike Smith on keyboards.

“Recorded last year at Albarn’s West London studio 13, Everyday Robots is produced by Richard Russell of XL, with whom Damon produced Bobby Womack’s The Bravest Man In The Universe– and features guest appearances from Brian Eno and Natasha Khan (Bat For Lashes).

Led by title track ‘Everyday Robots’, the 12 songs here invite the listener into Albarn’s world for a genuine ‘one-to-one’ and are the most soul-searching and autobiographical since his musical journey began: a career that started with Blur and spans Gorillaz, The Good, The Bad & The Queen, Mali Music, Monkey: Journey To The West, Dr Dee and Africa Express.

The songs’ subject matter is more directly personal than before and is inspired by Albarn’s experiences from early childhood to now, including the trappings of our modern existence, computer games, mobile phones and nature versus technology.

The lead, title track ‘Everyday Robots’ is accompanied by a video directed by artist and designer Aitor Throup. The film is a digital portrait of Albarn by Throup and uses CGI software and actual cranial scans and facial reconstruction techniques to explore and reveal the process of building a uniquely personal portrait of an artist and individual.

Throup also creatively directed the visual concepts for the single and album artwork, as well as shooting Albarn for the album cover image.

Everyday Robots will be available as a digital download, CD and 12” vinyl.

The full tracklisting is:

1) Everyday Robots
2) Hostiles
3) Lonely Press Play
4) Mr Tembo
5) Parakeet
6) The Selfish Giant
7) You And Me
8) Hollow Ponds
9) Seven High
10) Photographs (You Are Taking Now)
11) The History Of A Cheating Heart
12) Heavy Seas Of Love”

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.