Mogwai's 'Come On Die Young' to get Boxset reissue on 15 Year Anniversary

Mogwai’s ‘Come On Die Young’ to get Boxset reissue on 15 Year Anniversary

2LP gatefold sleeve

15 years after its initial release, Scottish torch bearer’s Mogwai are to reissue their iconic second album ‘Come On Die Young’ as a 4LP boxset and 2CD, with over an hour of bonus material. Released on the 16th June, the release also recognises the vital role this album played in Chemikal Underground’s development as the label approaches its 20th anniversary in 2015.. You can stream ‘Ex Cowboy (CAVA Sessions)’ here –

‘Arriving in March 1999 with an album cover that referenced The Exorcist and a title scalped from a well-known Glasgow gang slogan, you’d have expected Mogwai’s ‘Come On Die Young’ to be an apocalypse-harbouring, pre-millennial assault on the senses. Instead, we were treated to a darkly elegiac – surprisingly restrained – response to the aural fireworks of their ‘Young Team’ debut from two years earlier.

Previously unreleased takes from early Chem19 sessions of ‘Waltz For Aidan’, ‘Christmas Steps’, ‘Rollerball’ and ‘7-25’ which featured on ‘Zidane: A 21st Century Portrait’.
Seven remixed and remastered album tracks from CAVA sessions pre-dating the final Tarbox recording sessions.
Two previously unreleased tracks ‘Satchel Panzer’ and ‘Spoon Test’.
Rarities ‘Nick Drake’, ‘Hugh Dallas’ and the 3 track ‘Travels In Constants EP’.
The original, previously unreleased version of ‘Helps Both Ways’.
A1 ‘San Siro’ poster for Mogwai’s Barrowland Ballroom show from October ’99.
Boxset includes 4 x 180gsm LPs featuring the original 2LP and 2LP of bonus material.
Two Chem19 Demos are exclusive to the boxset: ‘Christmas Steps’ and ‘7-25’.
Boxset includes a download code for all audio within the boxset.

Mogwai’s new album ‘Rave Tapes’ is out now on Rock Action Records.

Mogwai tour extensively in the US from today with more Summer festival appearances announced. Full itinerary at
Come On Die Young Deluxe Edition tracklist:

Disc 1:

1. Punk Rock:
2. Cody
3. Helps Both Ways
4. Year 2000 Non-Compliant Cardia
5. Kappa
6. Waltz For Aidan
7. May Nothing But Happiness Come
8. Through Your Door
9. Oh! How The Dogs Stack Up
10. Ex Cowboy
11. Chocky
11. Christmas Steps
13. Punk Rock/Puff Daddy/Antichrist

Disc 2:

1. Nick Drake
2. Waltz For Aidan (Chem19 Demo)
3. Rollerball (Chem19 Demo)
4. Cody (Cava Sessions)
5. Ex Cowboy (Cava Sessions)
6. Spoon Test (Cava Sessions)
7. Punk Rock: (Cava Sessions)
8. Helicon 2 (Cava Church Live)
9. Satchel Panzer (Cava Sessions)
10. Kappa (Cava Church Live)
11. Untitled (Travels In Constants EP)
12. Quiet Stereo Dee (Travels In Constants EP)
13. Arundel (Travels In Constants EP)
14. Helps Both Ways (Original Version)
15. Hugh Dallas

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.