Little Arrow – Furious Finite (Bubblewrap Collective) 1

Little Arrow – Furious Finite (Bubblewrap Collective)

little-arrow-300The sound of Little Arrow tumbles from the imagination of William Hughes. The band’s lead singer, frontman and songwriter’s ever fertile musical box mind ploughs a deep furrow within his native Pembrokeshire countryside and to this kaleidoscope of ideas Ben Sharpe (guitar), Dan Messore (guitar), Callum Duggan (bass) and Richard Chitty (drums) add the most glorious texture, fibre and flesh.

In Hughes own words Little Arrow is a growing collective. And Furious Finite is its third full length offering. Following in the footsteps of last year’s Wild Wishes – again released through the Cardiff based independent record label Bubblewrap Collective – Furious Finite harnesses its local bucolic roots to the grand folk tradition and proceeds to drive this abstract vehicle through the gates of gentle psychedelia and quietly understated modernity.

Hughes deals in the currencies of human spirit and emotion and locates them in the natural world that surrounds him. Working in collaboration with his four close friends, the five men then stitch these rich songs of hope and occasional despair onto the most inspiring of musical fabrics, one that forges a strange yet beautiful link between those legendary psych-folk pioneers The Incredible String Band and the often child-like, slightly off-kilter eccentricity of Hughes’ Welsh contemporaries Stephen Black and Cate Le Bon. The end results are bold, imaginative and something rather special.

Rating: ★★★★½

Furious Finite was released on 17th October 2014 through Bubblewrap Collective. Buy it here

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.