REVIEW: End of the Road Festival 2015 2

NEWS: Welsh Music Prize shortlist announced

Welsh music prizeChampioning the best original music from Wales, Welsh Music Prize has announced its fifth annual nominations shortlist.

Music promoter John Rostron, who established Welsh Music Prize alongside Radio DJ Huw Stephens, said: “In light of the fact that over 60 albums in total were put forward we decided to include 15 albums on the shortlist this year. I think the list represents our most diverse edition to date and includes outstanding releases from both established acts and newcomers”.

Among the shortlist are last year’s Welsh Music Prize winners Joanna Gruesome and more Welsh language releases than ever before – from Geraint Jarman, Calan and Gwenno.

The 15 shortlisted albums are:

CalanDinas (Sain)
Catfish and the BottlemenThe Balcony (Island / Communion Records)
Geraint JarmanDwyn yr Hogyn Nol (AnkstMusic)
GwennoY Dydd Olaf (Peski / Heavenly Recordings)
H HawklineIn the Pink Condition (Heavenly Recordings)
Hippies vs GhostsDroogs
Houdini DaxNaughty Nation (Houdini Dax / Listen to This)
Joanna GruesomePeanut Butter (Fortuna POP!)
KeysRing the Changes (See Monkey Do Monkey)
Paper AeroplanesJoy (My First Records)
Richard JamesAll the New Highways
Tender PreyOrgan Calzone (Bird)
TrwbadorSeveral Wolves (Owlet)
ZarelliSoft Rains (Bronze Rat)
Zefur WolvesZefur Wolves (Strangetown)

The Welsh Music Prize 2014-2015 ceremony will be held on Thursday 26th November 2015 at Sherman Cymru, Cardiff.

The panel who will decide on the winner includes Helen Weatherhead (BBC 6Music); Noel Gardner (Buzz Magazine); Kieran Evans (Film Director); David Wrench (Producer); Neal Thompson (Focus Wales); Owain Schiavone (Golwg / Y Selar); Iain Richards (Velvet Coalmine); Griff Lynch Jones (Ochr 1, S4C); Nici Beech (Gwyl Arall, Noson 4a6); Andy Bibey (One Little Indian); Ben Coleman (GreenMan Festival) and Laura Snapes (Pitchfork / NME).

For more information about the Welsh Music Prize go to

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.