NEWS: AIM Independent Music Awards 2016 full shortlist announced

NEWS: AIM Independent Music Awards 2016 full shortlist announced

The Association of Independent Music (AIM) hold their sixth awards show on 6th September at The Brewery in London.  In the past the awards have recognised a number of independent artists, such as Björk, Skepta, Edwyn Collins and Flying Lotus, while also honouring labels like Transgressive and Alcopop.

Now the shortlists for the Awards have been announced, with 47 artists in total running for 9 Awards.  Christine and the Queens, Field Music, Flume, Radiohead and Wolf Alice lead the nominations.  A variety of small labels have also been nominated in a special category recognising their achievements, while the public were able to vote for who they’d like to see win Best Live Act.

It had already been announced that Róisín Murphy was this year’s winner of the Outstanding Contribution to Music Award.

See the full list of nominations below.  The winners will be revealed at the ceremony on 6th September.

Best Small Label

Beatnik Creative
Earth Recordings
Holy Roar
Local Action

Best Difficult Second Album

Daughter – Not to Disappear
Fat White Family – Songs for Our Mothers
Melt Yourself Down – Last Evenings on Earth
Money – Suicide Songs
Savages – Adore Life

Special Catalogue Release of the Year

British Sea Power – The Compleat Illustrated British Sea Power (Vol. 1)
Mikael Tariverdiev – Film Music
Slade – When Slade Rocked the World
Various Artists – Ork Records: New York, New York
Various Artists – Leaf 20 Box Set

Hardest Working Band or Artist

Darren Hayman
Kamasi Washington
Martyn Joseph
Run the Jewels

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival

Barn on the Farm
Beat Herder
Brainchild Festival
Pete the Monkey
Strawberries & Cream Festival

Independent Breakthrough of the Year

Christine and the Queens
Father John Misty
Neck Deep

Indie Champion Award

Chris Bye – Arts Council England/ Liverpool Sound City
Jen Long – DICE
Jess Partridge – London in Stereo
Jon Tolley – Banquet Records
Mary Anne Hobbs – BBC 6Music

Independent Video of the Year

Darwin Deez – ‘The Mess She Made’
Grimes – ‘Kill v Maim’
Kaytranada – ‘Lite Spots’
Oscar – ‘Sometimes’
Yeasayer – ‘I Am Chemistry’

Best Live Act

Caravan Palace
Sunset Sons
Wolf Alice

Independent Track of the Year

Adele – ‘Hello’
Christine and the Queens – ‘Tilted’
Field Music – ‘The Noisy Days Are Over’
Flume – ‘Never Be Like You’
Ghetts x Rude Kid – ‘One Take’
Major Lazer feat Nyla and Fuse ODG – ‘Light It Up (Remix)’
Protoje ft Chronixx – ‘Who Knows’
Radiohead – ‘Burn the Witch’
Skepta – ‘Man’
Roots Manuva – ‘Don’t Breathe Out’

PPL Award for Most Played Independent Act

Wolf Alice

Independent Album of the Year

ARCA – Mutant
Brian Eno – The Ship
Field Music – Commontime
Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes – Blossom
Lapsley – Long Way Home
Little Simz – A Curious Tale of Trials + Persons
Press to Meco – Good Intent
Radiohead – A Moon Shaped Pool
Roots Manuva – Bleeds
Skepta – Konnichiwa

Independent Label of the Year

Because Music
Bella Union
Epitaph/ ANTI
Moshi Moshi
Ninja Tune

Outstanding Contribution to Music

Roisin Murphy

Pioneer Award

Richard Russell – XL Recordings

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.