IN CAMERA: Cardiff Music Awards 2019

A selection of images from the Cardiff Music Awards 2019 at the Tramshed in Cardiff taken by Emma Lou, on the 29th of March 2019. The event featured performamces from Hana2k, Mace, Madi and Chroma.

Full list of nominees and winners:

Best Group
Afro Cluster
Al Moses
Boy Azooga – WINNER!
Buzzard Buzzard Buzzard
Holding Absence

Best Breakthrough Act
Al Moses – WINNER!

Best EP / Single
Al Moses – I Want More
Buzzard Buzzard Buzzard – Double Denim Hop
CHROMA – Girls Talk – WINNER!
Holding Absence – Like A Shadow
Rebecca Hurn – Waves

Best Independent Venue
Acapela Studios
Clwb Ifor BachFuel
Gwdihŵ – WINNER!
The Moon Cardiff

Lineup of the Year
Festival Of Voice
Hub Festival
Last Bill and Testament Of Railroad Bill
Sŵn 2018 – WINNER!
Wales Goes Pop!

Best Music Press
Buzz Magazine
God Is In The TV Zine
Let It Happen Blog
Minty’s Gig Guide To Cardiff- WINNER!

Best Music Photogapher
Simon Ayre
Amy Farrer
Bethan Miller – WINNER!
Rob Matthews (This Is The End Photography)
Gavin Smith (Front Row Productions)

Best Solo Act
Rebecca Hurn

Best Live Act
Al Moses
Boy Azooga – WINNER!
Buzzard Buzzard Buzzard
Holding Absence

Best Producer
Romesh Dodangoda – WINNER!
Charlie Francis
Steffan Pringle
Andrew Sanders
Timothy Vincent

Best Commercial Venue
Cardiff Student’s Union
Motorpoint Arena
The Globe
Tiny Rebel Cardiff
Tramshed – WINNER!

Best Festival
Cardiff Guitar Festival
Hub Festival
Inside Out Festival
Sŵn Festival – WINNER!
Wales Goes Pop!

Best Local Promoter
Ffion Wyn Morris – Ladies Of Rage
Liz Hunt – The Moon – WINNER!
Luke Priestley – Beers Over Tears
Will Dickins – Slush Puppy Presents

Best Radio Show
Bethan Elfyn (BBC Radio Wales) – WINNER!
Digital Exposure (Radio Cardiff)
Mama’s Gunna (Radio Cardiff)
Minty’s Gig Guide (Podcast/Radio Wales)
The Wyburn & Wayne Show (Radio Cardiff)

Champions Of Under-Represented Music
Forté Project
Ladies Of Rage – WINNER!
The Hold Up
Stagga (Fat Fridge Studios)
Donna Zee (Radio Cardiff)

Best DJs
DJ Jaffa
DJ Veto
Drunk Yoga
Lubi J

Best Album
Boy Azooga – 1, 2, Kung Fu! – WINNER!
Estrons – You Say I’m Too Much, I Say You’re Not Enough
The Naked Citizens – 8 Million StoriesRazkid – Broke By Monday
Siobhan McCrudden – Icarus Girl

Best Music Video
Buzzard Buzzard Buzzard – Double Denim Hop (Edwin Burdis/On Par)
CHROMA – Girls Talk (Trigger Happy Creative) – WINNER!
Nightlives – Under The Radar (Digichemistry)
MADI – Dirty Word (Pınar Öğün)
Novo Amor – Birthplace (Sil van der Woerd & Jorik Dozy)

Promoter of the Year
Clwb Ifor Bach – WINNER!
Dean Whittaker – Imperial Music
Liz Hunt – The Moon
Luke Priestley – Beers Over Tears
Orchard Live

Best Regional Promoter
Clwb Ifor Bach – WINNER!
Dean Whittaker – Imperial Music
Gavin Davies – Eradication Booking
Orchard Live
The MJR Group

Best Club Night
Blue Honey – WINNER!
Bump & Grind
Dirty Pop
Sure Shot
Team Up

Best Event Production
Gorilla Audio
MusicBox Studios – WINNER!
Orchard AV
Spartan AV

More information

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.