EXCLUSIVE: Beauty in Chaos premiere new album 'The Storm Before The Calm"

EXCLUSIVE: Beauty in Chaos premiere new album ‘The Storm Before The Calm”

 Beauty in Chaos, an LA based project involving guitarist Michael Ciravolo with a revolving door of guest vocalists, release their new album The Storm Before The Calm this week, and we we are debuting it in full stream it below.

This particular album features contributions by Wayne Hussey (The Mission), Steven Seibold (Hate Dept., Pigface), Curse Mackey (Pigface, My Life With The Thrill Kill Kult), Ashton Nyte (The Awakening), Rafe Pearlman, and Kat Leon (Holy Wars). 

Earlier, Beauty in Chaos previewed several tracks from this record, including ‘A Kind Cruelty’ featuring Curse Mackey (Pigface, My Life With The Thrill Kill Kult, Evil Mothers), ‘The Delicate Balance of All Things’ featuring The Mission frontman Wayne Hussey, and ‘Almost Pure’ featuring Steven Seibold of industrial-synth-punk legends Hate Dept. and the Martin Atkins-led Pigface. This album also features collaborations with Ashton Nyte (The Awakening), Rafe Pearlman, Kat Leon (Holy Wars), and mezzo-soprano Adrienne LaVey.

Beauty in Chaos is the brainchild of guitarist Michael Ciravolo. Originally from New Orleans and now based in Los Angeles, he is best known as President of Schecter Guitar Research. He also played guitar in Human Drama for 30 years, in addition to playing live and recording with Michael Aston’s Gene Loves Jezebel since 1998.

Undaunted and unscathed by the studio software/hardware meltdowns and the unprecedented global pandemic shutdown, here is our new album. I am in complete awe of the amazing artists; some returning, some new that have lent their voices and words to make this record possible. And I‘m eternally grateful to our growing BIC FAMILY that continue this journey with us,” says BIC curator mastermind Michael Ciravolo.

To me, ‘The Storm Before The Calm’ represents a rewind and a fast-forward. A rewind to the ‘80s and the great albums that lived on my turntable, that set a mood, a vibe… even the feeling of temperature.. as well as a crystal ball look into the next evolution of Beauty In Chaos.  Beauty wrapped in chaos. Dark, but always, with a light”.

In 2018, Beauty in Chaos released their acclaimed debut album ‘Finding Beauty in Chaos’, followed by the ‘Beauty Re-Envisioned’ album (2019). Other BIC artists include Simon Gallup (The Cure), Al Jourgensen (Ministry), Robin Zander (Cheap Trick), Pete Parada (The Offspring), dUg Pinnick (Kings X), ICE-T (Body Count), producer Tim Palmer, guitar icon Zakk Wylde, Ashton Nyte (The Awakening), Kevin Haskins (Bauhaus, Love & Rockets), Rolan Bolan, Michael Anthony (Van Halen), Michael Aston (Gene Loves Jezebel), Paul Wiley (Marilyn Manson), Michael Aston and Dirk Doucette (Gene Loves Jezebel), Pando (A Flock of Seagulls), UMMAGMA, Evi Vine, Johnny Indovina (Human Drama), Danny Lohner (Nine Inch Nails, Marilyn Manson), Betsy Martin (Caterwaul / Purr Machine), Kevin Kipnis (Purr Machine) and KITTY LECTRO, among others.

‘The Storm Before The Calm’ will be released on CD and digitally on May 22 with a later date to be announced for 180g-vinyl releases (black numbered limited edition and black & blue duo-tone). CD and digital orders come with an 8-page digital booklet with lyrics and a 25+ minute title opus not found on the vinyl version. CDs also come with the full digital download. ‘The Storm Before The Calm’ can be ordered here.


1. The Outside ft. Ashton Nyte 

2. Almost Pure ft. Steven Seibold (Hate Dept./ Pigface) 

3. Temple of Desire ft. Rafe Pearlman 

4. A Kind Cruelty ft. Curse Mackey 

5. The Delicate Balance of All Things ft. Wayne Hussey 

6. Stranger ft. Kat Leon (Holy Wars)

7. The Storm Before The Calm ft. Adrienne Lavey (CD/digital only)

Michael Ciravolo photos by Anabel Dflux

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.