NEWS: Charlotte Adigéry shares supple and funky lockdown pop of 'Bear With Me (and I’ll stand bare before you)'

NEWS: Charlotte Adigéry shares supple and funky lockdown pop of ‘Bear With Me (and I’ll stand bare before you)’

Charlotte Adigéry has released her first new material since the release of her 2019 breakout EP Zandoli. The new track called ‘Bear With Me (and I’ll stand bare before you)’  pops with supple beats, funky illuminating synths punctuated by her insiduous refrains that suggestively meditates on both sides of being in lockdown with a partner. Unwinding into a catchy multidimensional chorus, it vividly depicts Adigéry’s self aware and intricate compostions and ability to craft an earworm.

‘Bear With Me…’ is about both isolation and connection. A beautiful statement of life in this strangest of eras, its fractured disco production and soul-baring lyrics, conceived and created by the Caribbean-Belgian artist with partner Bolis Pupul in lockdown, speak of the intimacy and vulnerability of confinement.

“Bolis and I are storytellers, writing observational tales about the strange world we all inhabit,” says Adigéry, “this song is about being confined thus confronted to the way we live. The cruel irony of having the privilege of standing still, questioning and observing my life in all safety while others are fighting for theirs.”

She continues: “Bolis and I are making a time capsule, writing songs that tell the story of life in 2020.  We believe 2020 has been such a cornerstone for the 21st century.”

Its lifted from Foundations a new compilation from DEEWEE – the label from David and Stephen Dewaele AKA Soulwax/2manydjs – released on May 7th. Foundations is more than just a compilation of tracks though, it’s an audio experience with new exclusive tracks from Charlotte Adigéry, Movulango and James Righton complementing and elevating the catalogue material, and the sequencing of the 27 tracks is done with as much love as any artist album or DJ set.

Foundations will be released May 7, 2021, on DEEWEE. Pre-order here.


1. Charlotte Adigéry – Bear With Me (and I’ll stand bare before you) *exclusive track
2. Laima – Disco Pregnancy (Tonal + Rhythmical)
3. Each Other – Burn It Down
4. Bolis Pupul – Moon Theme
5. James Righton – Release Party *exclusive track
6. Die Verboten – Aquarius
7. Soulwax – Heaven Scent feat. Chloe Sevigny
8. EMS Synthi 100 – Movement 6
9. Soulwax – Conditions of a Shared Belief
10. Soulwax – Close to Paradise
11. Asa Moto – Kifesh
12. Laila – The Other Me (DEEWEEDUB)
13. Asa Moto – Wanowan Efem
14. Charlotte Adigéry – Paténipat
15. Klanken – Drie
16. Phillipi – 9000
17. Movulango – Leave *exclusive track
18. Laima – Home
19. Emmanuelle – Italove
20. Sworn Virgins – Take Your Lady
21. Phillipi & Rodrigo – Paciencia
22. Extra Credit – Drive Me
23. Bolis Pupul – Wéi?
24. Soulwax – Essential Eleven
25. Sworn Virgins – Fifty Dollar Bills
26. Phillipi & Rodrigo – Retrogrado
27. Future Sound Of Antwerp – Tom Cruise, Scientologist

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.