NEWS: John Mellencamp announces deluxe reissue of 'Scarecrow' 2

NEWS: John Mellencamp announces deluxe reissue of ‘Scarecrow’

John Mellencamp will release a deluxe version of his 1985 album Scarecrow on November 4. Released through Mercury/UME, it will be released as a box set including 2 CDs of newly remixed and remastered songs plus previously unreleased bonus tracks and alternate versions, a booklet full of rare photographs and all new liner notes by acclaimed author and music critic Anthony DeCurtis.

Scarecrow was Mellencamp’s eighth album. Credited to John Cougar Mellencamp (he had originally been known as Johnny, then John Cougar as Mellencamp had been considered too hard to market), it reached no.2 in the US. Much like Springsteen’s Born In The USA, which had been released the previous year, the album portrayed an honest picture of Reagan’s America. As the New York Times observed at the time: ‘He wants to pay tribute to the heartland’s workers, to stick up for the unglamorous life and to counsel grit and steadfastness.’

The tracklisting is as follows:


1. Rain On The Scarecrow

2. Grandma’s Theme

3. Small Town

4. Minutes To Memories

5. Lonely Ol’ Night

6. The Face Of The Nation

7. Justice And Independence ‘85

8. Between A Laugh And A Tear

9. Rumbleseat

10. You’ve Got To Stand For Somethin’

11. R.O.C.K. IN THE U.S.A. (A Salute To 60’s Rock)

12. The Kind Of Fella I Am

13. Small Town (Acoustic Version)


1. Under The Boardwalk

2. Lonely Ol’ Night (Rough Mix)

3. Between A Laugh And A Tear (Writer’s Demo)

4. Carolina Shag

5. Cold Sweat

6. Rumbleseat (Writer’s Demo)

7. Smart Guys

8. R.O.C.K. In The U.S.A. (A Salute To 60’s Rock) (Rough Mix)

9. Minutes To Memories (Rough Mix)

10. Shama Lama Ding Dong

11. Small Town (Writer’s Demo)

NEWS: John Mellencamp announces deluxe reissue of 'Scarecrow' 2

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.