EXCLUSIVE: The Frisbys 'Hurt Me' Single Premiere

EXCLUSIVE: The Frisbys ‘Hurt Me’ Single Premiere

The Frisbys return with the release of their uplifting new single ‘Hurt Me’, out on 16th December 2022, today we are debuting it below.

Despite what the song’s title would suggest, Hurt Me is a surprisingly elevating single that seeks to look forward with hope after heartbreak. It effortlessly combines elements folk, rock and country. Twins Helen (vocals, flute) and Nicola Frisby’s (vocals, acoustic guitar) share a melodic charm, with heartwarming harmonies framed in glistening country pop backdrops with are brushed with shades of First Aid Kit and The Shires.

Talking about the single, the band elaborate, “it’s about starting a new relationship after a significant heartbreak and the battle of deciding whether you are ready to pursue something new when you are still recovering from past hurts. It’s also about the responsibility of protecting other people and recognising that if you’re not ready to move on, you might end up causing someone else pain. Basically… it’s a no win. It sucks to break up with someone and it sucks to be broken up with. The song is pretty upbeat though so it isn’t quite as depressing as it sounds!”

Helen and Nicola have been making music together since they were old enough to speak. Having performed as a duo for many years, the pair joined forces with university friends Sam Keer (electric guitar) and Marc Robinson to form an acoustic quartet and released their debut EP Philosolove in 2013. After looking to develop a fuller sound, they recruited old college friends Tom Finigan (drums), Will Cattermole (bass) and university buddy Sal Palekar (violin, piano) in 2015, completing the line up.

Hurt Me is out on 16th December 2022.

EXCLUSIVE: The Frisbys 'Hurt Me' Single Premiere

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.