Seba Safe Press5 scaled

NEWS: Seba Safe shares ‘I Wonder’ single and announces upcoming EP, ‘Rainy’

Seba Safe is the brainchild of Galway songwriter Michael D’Alton who has just released ‘I Wonder’ from his upcoming album, ‘Rainy,’ due on 30th June via Nettwerk. Described by the Irish Times as “Very worth your time and ears.” Seba Safe writes openly about personal relationships, love, loss and change, wrapping his lyrics in a soundscape that combines elements of pop, folk, indie and R’n’B. The vocals for ‘I Wonder’ have a haunting dreamlike quality, morphing with driving percussion into a soaring, triumphant chorus. Seba Safe explains the inspiration for the song saying, “This is like several diary entries from the last two years. The lyrics are very personal and deal with everyday thoughts, fears, hopes, loss and love.”  Watch here:

Rainy is a natural follow-up to last year’s EP, Before I Remember You, taking Seba Safe’s folk roots and expanding them into a collection of rich, ethereal songs. Alongside the upcoming ‘I Wonder’ is the previous single ‘Oblivion’, a classic tale of wanting someone you shouldn’t, while ‘Afterlife’ presents a rumination on loneliness with a slow R’n’B-tinged beat.

Then, ‘On My Way is a very personal song that looks at the songwriter’s Irish roots and emigration, complete with a touching reference to the infamous Irish song,  ‘Oró, Sé Do Bheatha ‘Bhaile’ peeking through and juxtaposing the upbeat summery riff, bringing an air of history, depth and familiarity to the breezy track.

The Rainy EP was recorded in producer Duncan Mills’ (Florence and The Machine, Jake Bugg and Jamie Callum) studio in London Fields last summer.

Seba explains, “The Rainy EP for me is a personal reflection of a time when the world was in lockdown. These songs aren’t about the pandemic but a day-to-day reminder of what was happening in my own life and the country around me. Dealing with themes of mental health, personal growth, friendships falling apart, immigration and love, I created five songs to allow me to see the whole picture of this time.” 

With an artistic range that saw him collaborate with Æ MAK on “I Dance In The Kitchen”, he has garnered significant airplay from BBC 6Music, RTÉ 2FM (including Record of the Week from Tracy Clifford), and RTÉ Radio 1. He released his first EP with Nettwerk in 2022, Before I Remember You.  

His live shows have been going from strength to strength with slots around Ireland including Dublin’s Grand Social and Vicar Street and an upcoming headline show in Whelan’s on 22nd July, swiftly followed by a UK Tour. See the dates below:

Seba Safe’s new EP Rainy is out 30th June via Nettwerk.  Seba Safe Click Shop | Twitter, Instagram, Facebook | Linktree

Seba Safe live dates: 


14  – De Barras, Clonakilty 

20 – Dolans (Upstairs) Limerick 

21  – Monroes, Galway 

22  – Whelan’s Dublin 

23 – Hug and Pint, Glasgow 

24  – Castle Hotel, Manchester 

25  – Jacaranda Records, Liverpool 

26 – Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham 

 27 – Slaughtered Lamb, London 

Find Seba Safe here: 

Instagram​ | ​Twitter​ | ​Facebook​ | ​YouTube

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.