Preaching From The Pews: Knuckle

Preaching From The Pews: Knuckle

Welcome to Knuckle world. Its epicentre may well be in Huddersfield but the seismic influences of the powerhouse trio stretch way beyond this West Yorkshire market town. They cross the Pennines into Manchester (Buzzcocks) and over the Atlantic to Detroit (MC5) and the Mississippi Delta (Muddy Waters) as Ben Wallbanks (drums), Rob Crisp (bass) and Jonny Firth (guitar and vocals) blend a furious blast of post-punk subversion and snarling blues into their very own powerful brand of garage rock.

Seasoned live performers who have already played numerous shows, including prestigious support slots with Idles, Little Barrie and Barrence Whitfield & The Savages, and with two EPs to their name – ‘This Weeks Been Hell…’ and ‘Strangers and Freaks’ – Knuckle are now about to release their debut album Life Is Hard When You’re Soft Inside.

Recorded at Leeds’ Greenmount Studios, the new album will be released this Friday the 17th of May 2019 through the Wakefield independent record label, Philophobia music and will be available on streaming services and 12” vinyl.

The launch party for Life Is Hard When You’re Soft Inside will be held the following night at The Parish in Huddersfield, a place of particular significance to Knuckle given it was where Ben Wallbanks and Jonny Firth first met and also where Rob Crisp played his first gig with the band.

Full list of tour dates:

18th May – The Parish, Huddersfield
23rd May – Vinyl Tap Records, Huddersfield (acoustic instore)
24th May – The Captain Cook, Staithes
25th May – Springboard Festival, Cottingham
28th May – Oporto, Leeds
29th May – The Social, London
1st June – Long Division Festival, Wakefield
5th June – The Fulford Arms, York

And here is the third single to be taken from the forthcoming album. This is ‘Oh Mother’

You can find Knuckle on:


God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.