image001 1

NEWS: Laura Groves shares illuminating new single ‘D 4 N’ feat Sampha

Laura Groves has shared her gorgeous new single ‘D 4 N’ which features backing vocal from Sampha. Sensitively drawn production is topped with Grove’s haunting vocal performance that yearns for escape. The track comes accompanied by a video which Groves created herself – watch the video below. Its taken from her forthcoming new album Radio Red due out 11th August via Bella Union

Commenting on the track Groves says: “D 4 N is about the promise and possibility of escape and the problems that catch up with you after you think you’ve pushed them away. I’ve often felt pressure to maintain a strong exterior – this song is a reminder to keep moving through the barriers and find the pleasure in dreaming, living and sharing all that we have to offer ourselves and each other.”

Laura Groves UK lives dates:

Friday 18th August – Birkenhead – Future Yard (Maija Sofia supporting)

Saturday 19th August – Glasgow – Glad Café (Maija Sofia supporting)

Wednesday 23rd August – London – New River Studios (Fran Lobo supporting)

(photo credit: Suzie Howell)

Much of Radio Red, the first full length album Laura Groves has released under her own name, was written, produced and recorded by Groves in her studio, watched over by two radio transmitting towers. “I became very drawn to them and they became like symbols to me; they were always awake, sending their messages, the red lights always came on at night and watched over whatever was going on in my life.” The album deals with themes of communication – missed and intercepted signals, chance meetings, synchronicities, the channels through which we try to express our true feelings, the outside interference that can get in the way and the joy of letting go and allowing the messages to flow freely.

A singer all her life, Groves has spent over a decade developing a practise as an autonomous multi-instrumentalist and recording artist as well as a collaborator (Ragz Orginale, Darkstar, Sampha, Jamie Leeming), releasing EPs on DEEK Recordings and the 2020 EP “A Private Road” on Bella Union. Much of the creation of Radio Red was solitary, but a small group of people helped bring it to fruition. A meeting with mix engineer TJ Allen (Portishead, Adrien Utley) through her work in Bat for Lashes’ live band led to an important creative relationship. “Working with Tim provided me with a safe and nurturing studio environment in which to finish the record. It also means a lot to have Sampha’s voice on “D 4 N” and “Good Intention”, because we first met near the beginning of this journey and so much has happened since then – singing together again feels like coming full circle in the most positive way and a reminder that there are constants running through it all.”

Radio Red artwork and tracklist:

1. Sky at Night

2. Good Intention

3. Synchronicity

4. D 4 N

5. I’m Not Crying

6. Any Day Now

7. Time

8. Sarah

9. Make A Start

10. Silver Lining

image001 1

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.