image 18

NEWS: The Jesus & Mary Chain commemorate their 40th Anniversary with the release of new album ‘Glasgow Eyes’

Today The Jesus and Mary Chain light the spark for a landmark year ahead as they announce the March 8th release of their new album Glasgow Eyes via Fuzz Club and unleash its lead single ‘jamcod.’ The duo – brothers Jim and William Reid – will further mark their 40th year in 2024 with an autobiography (published by Orion/White Rabbit) and a major UK and European tour.

The album’s first single, ‘ jamcod’ blurs dizzying electronica with rich metallic distortion and William’s immense signature guitar work. At the heart of the track, Jim’s intense vocals ramp up the hazy hallucinatory vibe, building a rich wall of sound creating a fresh, radical anthem and an instant classic. Watch here:

Glasgow Eyes was recorded at Mogwai’s Castle of Doom studio in Glasgow, where Jim and William continued the creative process that resulted in their previous album, 2017’s Damage and Joy, becoming their highest charting album in over twenty years. What emerged is a record that finds one of the UK’s most influential groups embracing a productive second chapter, their maelstrom of melody, feedback and controlled chaos now informed more audibly by their love for Suicide and Kraftwerk and a fresh appreciation of the less disciplined attitudes found in jazz.

Jim Reid elaborates, “But don’t expect ‘the Mary Chain goes jazz.’ People should expect a Jesus and Mary Chain record, and that’s certainly what Glasgow Eyes is. Our creative approach is remarkably the same as it was in 1984, just hit the studio and see what happens. We went in with a bunch of songs and let it take its course. There are no rules, you just do whatever it takes. And there’s a telepathy there – we are those weird not-quite twins that finish each other’s sentences.”

The album’s first single, ‘jamcod’, welds dark electronica with the immense guitar sound that can only be that of William Reid creating an instant Mary Chain classic that’s also undeniably fresh and radical. ‘jamcod’ and Glasgow Eyes not only extend The Jesus and Mary Chain story, but feel simultaneously like a return to roots. From the incendiary Psychocandy debut and its classic ‘Just Like Honey’ onwards, the Reid brothers steadily became the misfits who made good without compromise.

Glasgow Eyes is now available to pre-order HERE. Physical formats include CD, single vinyl and, for those who love the sound of vinyl at its purest, limited edition 45 rpm double-vinyl lavishly packaged with artwork by William Reid. Fans who pre-order the album before 10am on Friday December 1st receive priority access to tour tickets. Pre-orders open at 11am GMT today.


22 – Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall
25 – Dublin, IE @ Olympia
26 – Belfast, UK @ Limelight 1
27 – Edinburgh, UK @ Usher Hall
30 – London, UK @ Roundhouse

2 – Copenhagen, DK @ Amager Bio
3 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
5 – Oslo, NO @ Rockefeller
6 – Stockholm, SE @ Munich Brewery
7 – Malmo, SE @ Plan B
9 – Hamburg, DE @ Markthalle
11 – Berlin, DE @ Huxleys
12 – Cologne, DE @ Live Music Hall
13 – Paris, FR @ Elysée Montmartre
15 – Geneva, CH @ L’Usine
16 – Winterthur, CH @ Salzhaus
17 – Milan, IT @ Alcatraz
19 – Krems, AT @ Donaufestival
20 – Heidelberg, DE @ Halle O2
21 – Tilburg, NL @ Roadburn Festival
23 – Brussels, BE @ AB
24 – The Hague, NL @ Paard

mail? GlasgowEyes Packshot 990000028a05143c

The Jesus and Mary Chain
Glasgow Eyes
(Fuzz Club)
March 8, 2024
Pre-order HERE

Track List:

1. ‘Venal Joy’
2. ‘American Born’
3. ‘Mediterranean X Film’
4. ‘jamcod’
5. ‘Discotheque’
6. ‘Pure Poor’
7. ‘The Eagles and The Beatles’
8. ‘Silver Strings’
9. ‘Chemical Animal
10. ‘Second of June’
11. ‘Girl 71’
12. ‘Hey Lou Reid’

Follow The Jesus and Mary Chain:

Spotify | Apple | YouTube | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Website

image 18

Photo by Mel Butler

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.