Singles Round-Up 08/0/11

PaulCurreri 231(By Sian Lower)

Hello readers! I hope we’re all having a fun summer (i.e. jetting out of the country at the first given opportunity to experience sunlight somewhere exotic).

This week I have been pleasantly surprised, as there haven’t been many singles I haven’t enjoyed…there have been some, just not many.
East London band Deep Cut formed in 2006 and new single Something’s Got To Give is from upcoming album “Disorientation” (out 5th September on AC30). It’s a good track as it has all the ingredients: guitar, drums, tambourines and good female vocal. Yet despite being very catchy rock/pop, the music often overpowers the voice which dilutes it a bit – good for a listen though.

Never Come Back is the first official single from duo Hyde and Beast, to be released 8th August. Drummer Dave Hyde (brother of Futureheads’ frontman Barry Hyde) and guitarist Neil ‘Beast’ Basset are also close to releasing their debut album “Slow Down” – out August 15th. Beginning with an upbeat piano and almost dream-like vocals, Never Come Back reminds your reviewer of rainy days at the seaside – and I mean that in the best possible way! A good chorus picks up the tempo and guitar warps in and out of synch to create a quirky sound. Speaking of which – the video is pretty odd too. Shot in black and white and involving a mime playing a trumpet, it allows the talent to speak for itself.

Teenage angst? Life unfair? Misunderstood? Then look no further – The Blackout release their third single The Storm on digital download on August 8th, taken from their album “Hope”. I think the correct term is man-band – their mixture of pop/rock sound and pop/metal image is reminiscent of McFly, just a little older. But hey it’s charting so it must be good.

Rough Fields (a.k.a. James Birchall) also has a new single out this week. You As You is released via Bomb Shop on August 8th, on handmade cassette and digital download. The track is mostly instrumental. It starts quietly, like it’s warming up. Short, simple notes set the tone as it gradually builds in speed, components and volume to create something that fills the entire room without you noticing. There are hints of human life but otherwise it’s just enjoyable listening.

Ok a wee mix with the next one. The Fanclub will release their double-sided single digitally on August 8th through Underdogs Music. The first song is A Real Horror (Part II). The vocals feature immediately and a very studenty, summery beat ensues. Sounding more than a little like an 80’s feel-good movie montage , it also incorporates organ music and some funky guitar. While I was busy being considerably un-impressed by this track, Let’s Measure Next Year Better began to play and it really does sound like a completely different band. Quiet acoustic guitar leads into a much more calm and melancholy single. The minor keys suit the vocal much more. This track reminded me of Idlewild– lots of guitar and sad lyrics. Lovely jubbly.

After the demise of his former band Hocus Tocus, Brighton’s Sam McGarrigle became Gross Magic and became rather nostalgic. He has now released a five track Teen Jamz EP on purple 7” vinyl, via UK label The Sounds of Sweet Nothing. The track list includes Sweetest Touch, which is now available for free download. His high-pitched, almost feminine whispery voice is small and quiet against grungy/pop. How else to explain it? A mix of every single song you have ever owned. He forms a very catchy, melodic chorus which falls into drums getting louder and louder, before breaking down to small notes at the end.

Now for my favourite of the week! Seattle-born Paul Curreri’s new single Nothing’s Changed on the Dancefloor is out on August 8th. This is the first release from upcoming album “The Big Shitty”. The first word that came to mind when I listened to this – except “country” – was “funky”. I am loving this track. Said funkiness is obvious from the outset with a strong country guitar sound. Then drums kick in with a strong beat and it’s all loud guitar rock. Listen to it immediately!

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.