The Magnetic Fields reveal new single ‘Andrew In Drag’ listen here

The Magnetic Fields’ will be releasing ‘Andrew In Drag’ the first single from their forthcoming album Love at the Bottom of the Sea on Monday the 27th of February.  The album will be released by Domino on March 5. The band’s tenth full-length album is their first release of new material for Domino, who have previously reissued some of their classic period albums and Stephin Merritt’s recent Obscurities collection. 

The Magnetic Fields will be celebrating the release of Love at the Bottom of the Sea with an appearance at All Tomorrow’s Parties UK on 11 March, a performance at The Royal Festival Hall in London on the 25th of April, and a short tour of the UK and Ireland to follow.

‘Andrew in Drag’ is a poignant, irresistibly catchy pop song which demonstrates all the variants of gender and sexuality – a man falls in love with a woman who is embodied by a man. Our protagonist is straight, as is the other guy, so it is a fleeting glimpse of true love that can never be.  ‘A celebration of impossible love. Not at all autobiographical in any way’ says Stephin Merritt.  The single features an exclusive new b-side entitled ‘When Next In Love I Fall’.  Listen to ‘Andrew In Drag’ HERE.

The Magnetic Fields – Andrew In Drag by DominoRecordCo

Love at the Bottom of the Sea will be available on CD (WIGCD285), vinyl (WIGLP285) and digitally (WIG285D). 


The Magnetic Fields’ UK and Irish Tour Dates

 March 11 ATP Festival – Minehead –{A17E0784-2807-4EDD-B322-82EAE939C590}&filler1=artistticket&filler2=mainApril

24 Komedia – Brighton www.artistticket.comApril

25 Royal Festival Hall – London

27 RNCM – Manchester www.artistticket.comApril

28 The Olympia – Dublin  www.ticketmaster.ieApril

29 Opera House – Cork

God is in the TV is an online music and culture fanzine founded in Cardiff by the editor Bill Cummings in 2003. GIITTV Bill has developed the site with the aid of a team of sub-editors and writers from across Britain, covering a wide range of music from unsigned and independent artists to major releases.